StartCalc() & Multiple Chart Instruments  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
FistPeso

StartCalc() & Multiple Chart Instruments  [SOLVED]

Postby FistPeso » 02 Sep 2013

Greetings,

I am new to the Multicharts.NET API and after reading the documentation and debugging through some indicators I ran into a couple of puzzles that I am trying to solve.

On the Spread_Ratio indicator, BarsOfData(2).Close is assigned to the dataseries2 variable in the StartCalc() method. However, when I stepped through the code, Bars was instantiated and populated with data, however BarsOfData(2) was null. It was finally instantiated and populated when CalcBar() fired. It seems odd that the Bars would exist and not the remaining data series. This is also an issue when trying to feed another function with calculated results in the StartCalc() method.

When creating my own indicator, I noticed that the StartCalc() method fired twice, much to my surprise. I read somewhere else about MaxBarsBack and I did notice the first time it fires MaxBarsBack is one, the second time six. I am not sure what this is all about.

Any guidance would be appreciated.
Last edited by FistPeso on 04 Sep 2013, edited 1 time in total.

FistPeso

Re: StartCalc() & Multiple Data Sources

Postby FistPeso » 03 Sep 2013

I have confirmed this with other indicators. In general, I am not able to access the secondary data series via the BarsOfData(2) object at the init stage unless I do it through the Dataloader . I have also not been able to determine why the StartCalc() method gets called twice. I turned off the Real-Time Tick option to confirm that it was not causing the second call.

I am running the current MC.NET 64 version.
Thanks.

FistPeso

Re: StartCalc() & Multiple Data Sources

Postby FistPeso » 04 Sep 2013

I have found the solution to these questions and I am leaving it here to help others who are getting started with the API.