Interactive Brokers

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
strelow
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Dec 2019
Location: Brazil-SP
Has thanked: 2 times

Interactive Brokers

Postby strelow » 28 Jun 2020

Hello Guys

I trying to use Interactive Brokers like feed but I have one doubt
Is necessary install IB Gateway to MC get instrument from IB? Tutorial video in MC site dont say nothing about that.
I trying to use a demo account for that.

Thanks,

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7345
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2095 times

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby TJ » 28 Jun 2020

You have to install either
1. the TWS Trader Work Station, or
2. the gateway.

strelow
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Dec 2019
Location: Brazil-SP
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby strelow » 29 Jun 2020

Hello

No instument on chat :( but in TWS I have the data ploted


I followed video tutorial

this is log:

My market:

[06/29/2020 19:59:47] Data request for VALE3 BOVESPA STK USD 1 Day Trade [ 06/25/2020 22:59:47.000 - 06/29/2020 22:59:47.000 ] (Id= 1000006)
[06/29/2020 19:59:48] TWS error message: Id= 1000006; code= 200; description= No security definition has been found for the request; for VALE3;BOVESPA;STK;USD;
[06/29/2020 19:59:50] TWS error message: Id= 5; code= 200; description= No security definition has been found for the request; for VALE3;BOVESPA;STK;USD;
[06/29/2020 19:59:50] No security definition has been found: Symbol= VALE3;Trade;Tick;BOVESPA;STK;USD;
[06/29/2020 20:34:33] Data request for USIM5 BOVESPA STK USD 1 Day Trade [ 06/25/2020 23:33:33.000 - 06/29/2020 23:34:33.000 ] (Id= 1000007)
[06/29/2020 20:34:33] TWS error message: Id= 1000007; code= 200; description= No security definition has been found for the request; for USIM5;BOVESPA;STK;USD;


I tried with american instrument : No market data permissions

[06/29/2020 22:06:35] Connecting to real-time data for GOOG NYSE STK USD
[06/29/2020 22:06:35] Data request for GOOG NYSE STK USD 1 Day Trade [ 06/26/2020 01:06:35.000 - 06/30/2020 01:06:35.000 ] (Id= 1000020)
[06/29/2020 22:06:35] TWS warning message: Id= 13; code= 10167; description= Requested market data is not subscribed. Displaying delayed market data...
[06/29/2020 22:06:36] TWS error message: Id= 1000020; code= 162; description= Historical Market Data Service error message:No market data permissions for NYSE STK
[06/29/2020 22:06:36] Data request for GOOG NYSE STK USD 1 Day Trade [ 11/21/2019 09:30:00.000 - 06/29/2020 16:00:00.000 ] (Id= 1000021)
[06/29/2020 22:06:36] TWS error message: Id= 1000021; code= 354; description= Requested market data is not subscribed.
[06/29/2020 22:06:36] TWS error message: Id= 1000021; code= 162; description= Historical Market Data Service error message:No market data permissions for NYSE STK

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7345
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2095 times

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby TJ » 29 Jun 2020

You have to pay to get data.

strelow
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Dec 2019
Location: Brazil-SP
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby strelow » 02 Jul 2020

Hello.

But for 30 day must work is a trial period.

I understand for second example with google stock have some limitation but in first one the issue is other

messages:

No security definition has been found for the request (?)

No market data permissions for NYSE STK (ok I understand)

There are some info here but I did not understand how to fix:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/205 ... been-found

User avatar
rrams
Posts: 66
Joined: 10 Feb 2011
Location: Arizona
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby rrams » 03 Jul 2020

I am going to guess that this problem is caused by not having a Brazilian real currency to choose from when you add the BOVESPA exchange to the Exchanges & ECNs and/or Security Definition in QuoteManager.

The API call to IB TWS needs to use BOVESPA as exchange name and BRL as currency, not USD, for parameters or it won't find that security.

You should private message MultiCharts support.

strelow
Posts: 10
Joined: 20 Dec 2019
Location: Brazil-SP
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Interactive Brokers

Postby strelow » 03 Jul 2020

Hello rrams

I think you are right .

I tried stayied currency like none but without sucesss.

I can find the instrument listed in quote manager to insert a new symbol and add but after this step create a new chart and select this paper the response is no data.

In IB tool I´m receiving the brazilian data the problem is MC software not show in the MC chart.

Lets try Mc support.


Return to “MultiCharts”