Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
chancewebc
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2012

Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby chancewebc » 13 Aug 2012

Hello,
I'm entering orders using the DOM and using the STOP strategies.
The STOPS are exchanged placed, or even broker placed.

Is there any possible way to make it "simulated" as in watched on computer, exchange or broker (interactivebroker runs its own internal trading group TIMBERHILL) placed shows your hand big time.. and the stops get picked off before moving in the direction.

* NT,buttontrader, and ZLT (ZSTP) all have simulated stops for manual trading.

Thanks
Jake
multicharts 8.0 user
great release btw!

SP
Posts: 455
Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 283 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby SP » 14 Aug 2012


chancewebc
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2012

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby chancewebc » 14 Aug 2012

Hello SP , thanks for the link,
except it is for broker simulated , not on your computer simulated.

A Simulated Stop order (SS) is a conditional locally held (PC simulated) order type that allows you to execute either a market or a limit order once the market touches your order price and satisfies a user defined volume trigger. SS orders are very powerful and can be misused if not fully understood. Please take the time to review this section in it's entirety prior to using this order type.



Benefits
• Hide your order from the market placeel)

=================

This is almost a requirement in stock trading, because you can't show a 5000 size STOP sitting on the exchange.. market makers will stop you out for no reason!!

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 14 Aug 2012

Hello SP , thanks for the link,
except it is for broker simulated , not on your computer simulated.

A Simulated Stop order (SS) is a conditional locally held (PC simulated) order type that allows you to execute either a market or a limit order once the market touches your order price and satisfies a user defined volume trigger. SS orders are very powerful and can be misused if not fully understood. Please take the time to review this section in it's entirety prior to using this order type.



Benefits
• Hide your order from the market placeel)

=================

This is almost a requirement in stock trading, because you can't show a 5000 size STOP sitting on the exchange.. market makers will stop you out for no reason!!
Hello,

Currently in MC it works this way:
A. If a broker supports stop orders, MultiCharts places stop orders directly to broker.
B. If a broker does not support stop orders, they are emulated within MC (when the price level of a stop order is reached, a market order is placed).

In current version of MC there is no opportunity to switch between these stop order implemetntaions if a broker supports stop orders. If a broker doesn't support stop orders, it is mentioned in the description of corresponding broker profile in MC Wiki: https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... r_Profiles

You can also leave us such feature request: https://www.multicharts.com/pm

evdl
Posts: 401
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby evdl » 24 Jul 2014

Bump!

Simulated stops held in MC are very useful in certain situations. Is this something we could expect in the near future?

Anyone also interested in this feature. Please vote on

http://www.multicharts.com/pm/viewissue ... no=MC-1091

or

http://www.multicharts.com/pm/viewissue ... no=MC-1090

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 24 Jul 2014

Simulated stops held in MC are very useful in certain situations. Is this something we could expect in the near future?
At the moment the feature is not yet scheduled for any particular version of MultiCharts.

User avatar
furytrader
Posts: 353
Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 217 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby furytrader » 24 Jul 2014

It would be easy enough to implement a "simulated" stop order in your code, as long as you use intrabar order generation and your computer is receiving real-time price data.

evdl
Posts: 401
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Simulated stops instead of exchange stops.

Postby evdl » 24 Jul 2014

The simulated orders I meant are for manually trading with the charttrader/DOM. It can be a check button in the settings or somewhere on the charttrader/DOM itself to activate simulated orders or send the order to the broker.

Furytrader, it is true that it can be coded but that is for auto trading. Although it is possible to code all the exit strategies of the charttrader and use it with semi autotrading (let the auto trader manage the exits). Would take some hefty coding to have the use of the exit charttrader strategies. For example, the manually dragging of set targets/stops takes some advanced coding. And also the syncing of the positions and targets when manually take a position and leave the exits to the autotrader is something that can go wrong pretty fast. Especially when you take different positions in a short time frame.

Would be more than nice if MC provide a way to access the charttrader exits strategies with easylanguage code in next versions and use it as if you are trading manually. So the autotrader is taking position and manage exits, but you can interfere the exits as if you are trading manually but with the same look and feel and easy handling. Was discussed in this thread also: http://www.multicharts.com/discussion/v ... 513#p57158

That is why I changed to manually trading. Let an indicator (with your strategy) give a signal to take a position with the charttrader and be able to adjust the exits if necessary. That is why it would be good to have the simulated stops for the charttrader.


Return to “MultiCharts”