Multiple Data Series in a signal.  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
whammer
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby whammer » 03 Mar 2013

I must be missing something obvious but here goes. What is the value of multiple data series in a signal when the the additional data series are over ridden by data1 ??

If data1 is 5 min, and data2 is a 1 minute there seems to be no way to extract, lets say, a 5 bar average from data2 that actually is a five bar average of data2 to use in the signal because it

Average(close data1)= Average(close data2)

Even in an indicator it will default to data1 unless you manually format it and force it to be based on data2. However, in a signal I am not aware of any method to force data2 to actually be based on data2. If anyone knows how to do that, or pls explain how I am looking at it incorrectly. Thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby TJ » 03 Mar 2013

I must be missing something obvious but here goes. What is the value of multiple data series in a signal when the the additional data series are over ridden by data1 ??

If data1 is 5 min, and data2 is a 1 minute there seems to be no way to extract, lets say, a 5 bar average from data2 that actually is a five bar average of data2 to use in the signal because it

Average(close data1)= Average(close data2)

Even in an indicator it will default to data1 unless you manually format it and force it to be based on data2. However, in a signal I am not aware of any method to force data2 to actually be based on data2. If anyone knows how to do that, or pls explain how I am looking at it incorrectly. Thanks.
You must set the fastest data series as data1.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby TJ » 03 Mar 2013

I must be missing something obvious but here goes. What is the value of multiple data series in a signal when the the additional data series are over ridden by data1 ??

If data1 is 5 min, and data2 is a 1 minute there seems to be no way to extract, lets say, a 5 bar average from data2 that actually is a five bar average of data2 to use in the signal because it

Average(close data1)= Average(close data2)

Even in an indicator it will default to data1 unless you manually format it and force it to be based on data2. However, in a signal I am not aware of any method to force data2 to actually be based on data2. If anyone knows how to do that, or pls explain how I am looking at it incorrectly. Thanks.
See post #4
[FAQ] Multiple time frame, Multi-Data Analysis
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6929

whammer
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby whammer » 03 Mar 2013

Thank you TJ. Not the answer I was hoping for however. I did want to use some shorter data series as inputs into a longer data series (data1), but you are saying that is not possible as I understand your answer.

Is there anything that could be done in the code that could force what i am trying to do? or through global variable?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby TJ » 04 Mar 2013

Thank you TJ. Not the answer I was hoping for however. I did want to use some shorter data series as inputs into a longer data series (data1), but you are saying that is not possible as I understand your answer.

Is there anything that could be done in the code that could force what i am trying to do? or through global variable?
I do not understand what you want to achieve.

whammer
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby whammer » 04 Mar 2013

OK here's an example. I want to use 3 averages as follows:
data2 = 1 min
data3 = 2 min
data4 = 3 min

value1 = average(data2,5) + average(data3,10) + average(data4,15);


How do I apply that to a signal on 4 min chart? Let's say I want certain benefits from using a longer time series but still have the speed of the faster time series. With an indicator I can manually force each average to behave, but in a signal there seems to be no way to accomplish this although I hope I am wrong.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby TJ » 04 Mar 2013

OK here's an example. I want to use 3 averages as follows:
data2 = 1 min
data3 = 2 min
data4 = 3 min

value1 = average(data2,5) + average(data3,10) + average(data4,15);


How do I apply that to a signal on 4 min chart? Let's say I want certain benefits from using a longer time series but still have the speed of the faster time series. With an indicator I can manually force each average to behave, but in a signal there seems to be no way to accomplish this although I hope I am wrong.
Look up:
barstatus

you can set the 4 min chart as data5,

eg.

Code: Select all

if barstatus(5) = 2 then
begin
if buycondition = true then buy...
end;
The buy order will always apply to data1.

whammer
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.  [SOLVED]

Postby whammer » 04 Mar 2013

Very interesting TJ. Thank you!

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7743
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: Multiple Data Series in a signal.

Postby TJ » 04 Mar 2013

Very interesting TJ. Thank you!
You are welcome!


Return to “MultiCharts”