IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Sky » 27 Mar 2014

Hello....please be patient as I am fairly new to MC ....I'm a TS import and all of my past TS indicators have imported nicely into MC.

Image

I was curious about this indicator, can it be done in MC, or has it been done and I just can't locate it? It's the DOM cumulative Bid/Ask size as can be seen in the image. In TS I had a nice histogram displaying the Cumulative Bid/Ask but it had to be in Object Oriented language (MC.Net here). TS was allowing the new OOEL to work with the old EL so we could run both languages on a chart. I prefer to trade off a chart and I do not want to watch the DOM if I can avoid it.

So, is there a way to sum all 10 Bid/Ask levels in the DOM ladder to work with MC64?

Thanks for any input....
Attachments
Sum of 10BidAsk Levels.png
Sum of 10BidAsk Levels.png (42.16 KiB) Viewed 989 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7156
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 988 times
Been thanked: 2041 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby TJ » 27 Mar 2014

Hello....please be patient as I am fairly new to MC ....I'm a TS import and all of my past TS indicators have imported nicely into MC.

Image

I was curious about this indicator, can it be done in MC, or has it been done and I just can't locate it? It's the DOM cumulative Bid/Ask size as can be seen in the image. In TS I had a nice histogram displaying the Cumulative Bid/Ask but it had to be in Object Oriented language (MC.Net here). TS was allowing the new OOEL to work with the old EL so we could run both languages on a chart. I prefer to trade off a chart and I do not want to watch the DOM if I can avoid it.

So, is there a way to sum all 10 Bid/Ask levels in the DOM ladder to work with MC64?

Thanks for any input....
Open your PowerLanguage Editor and look for an indicator called:

--- Market Depth on Chart ---

User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Sky » 27 Mar 2014

Thanks TJ.....I think I can work with this, as the only component missing is the cumulative....U have helped me once again (notice my inline img?...U help school me a while back on this) ....very grateful.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9066
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1256 times
Been thanked: 2911 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 27 Mar 2014

The Bid and Ask volume sums are available in MultiCharts DOM as native functionality since MultiCharts 8.8 Release. Make sure you are running the latest build.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7156
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 988 times
Been thanked: 2041 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby TJ » 27 Mar 2014

Thanks TJ.....I think I can work with this, as the only component missing is the cumulative....U have helped me once again (notice my inline img?...U help school me a while back on this) ....very grateful.
I sure remember you... good that you can make it work. :)

User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Sky » 27 Mar 2014

Henry....thanks...but I think U are referencing B/A Volume totals per day, no?

I'm looking for the "Sum" of the 10 levels for the Bid & Ask. Please see my pic above.

Will the latest version provide this cumulative summation, or is the Total Volume U reference cumulative throughout the day?

Also, can U point me to a "how to" for upgrading to the latest version....saving current workspaces, indicators, etc. then importing them into the latest version, also "how to" revert back to the previous version if the current version has issues?

Thank you kindly........Sky

SP
Posts: 453
Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 283 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby SP » 28 Mar 2014


User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Sky » 28 Mar 2014

SP......thanks so much.....that's exactly what I am looking for....perfect!!! No code writing required this weekend...

....that means I have to lay bricks on the side of the driveway instead...ugh.

Thanks for the great help peps...problem solved.

Peace out.

User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Sky » 28 Mar 2014

Ok....this is the exact information I am looking for, but I have to stretch my price scale in order to separate the two values to readability.

Does anyone know if an input can be installed to control the two levels separation without adjusting the price scale?

Thanks for any help?

Code: Select all

//MaxSize ersetzt durch % der Gesamtsize

[RecoverDrawings = false];

if not LastBarOnChart_s then #return;

Inputs:
DrawPiceText (false),
DomLevels (5),
UpdateSpeed_seconds (0.1),
TLSize (5),
TxTSize (9),
TextBidColor (yellow),
TextAskColor (white),
RoundFactor (2);
Vars:
AskSum (0),
BidSum (0),
SumBidAskSizes (0);

array :
AskSizeLevel [10](0),
BidSizeLevel [10](0);
RecalcLastBarAfter(UpdateSpeed_seconds);

repeat

if not dom_isconnected then
break;


value11 = 0;
value12 = 0;
for value1 = 0 to dom_askscount - 1 begin
value12 = dom_asksize(value1);
AskSizeLevel [value1] = dom_asksize(value1);
if value12 > value11 then value11 = value12;
end;

for value1 = 0 to dom_bidscount - 1 begin
value12 = dom_bidsize(value1);
BidSizeLevel [value1] = dom_bidsize(value1);
if value12 > value11 then value11 = value12;
end;

if 0 >= value11 then
break;

AskSum = array_sum (AskSizeLevel ,0,DomLevels - 1);
BidSum = array_sum (BidSizeLevel ,0,DomLevels -1);


SumBidAskSizes = AskSum+BidSum;

draw_DOM_level6(DrawPiceText,
dom_askprice(0), AskSum , array_sum (AskSizeLevel ,0,value1),
SumBidAskSizes,value1, SumBidAskSizes ,
gradientcolor( value1, 0, 10, RGB(255,0,0), RGB(80,0,0) ),
dom_askscount - 1 = value1,TLSize ,TxTSize,TextAskColor,RoundFactor
);




draw_DOM_level6(DrawPiceText,
dom_bidprice(0), BidSum , array_sum (BidSizeLevel ,0,value1),
SumBidAskSizes,value1, SumBidAskSizes ,
gradientcolor( value1, 0, 10, RGB(0,0,255), RGB(0,0,80) ),
dom_bidscount - 1 = value1,TLSize ,TxTSize,TextBidColor,RoundFactor
);


plot1("OK", "Status", white);

#return;

until(False);

plot1("Level2 data is not avaliable", "Status", red);

User avatar
Sky
Posts: 42
Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?  [SOLVED]

Postby Sky » 28 Mar 2014

I think I have the solution.....I need to separate the two draw_Dom_level6 functions and redraw the information at different locations (e.g current bar high and low)...

that should allow me to keep my current price scale.

Thanks for the help folks.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9066
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1256 times
Been thanked: 2911 times

Re: IB Booktrader Cumulative Bid/Ask indicator possible?

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 28 Mar 2014

Henry....thanks...but I think U are referencing B/A Volume totals per day, no?
I'm looking for the "Sum" of the 10 levels for the Bid & Ask. Please see my pic above.
The Bid and Ask volume sums in DOM window are the sums of the current volume across all available levels. This is not the total volume per day.
Will the latest version provide this cumulative summation, or is the Total Volume U reference cumulative throughout the day?
At the moment we do not plan adding cumulative volume for the day to the DOM window.
Also, can U point me to a "how to" for upgrading to the latest version....saving current workspaces, indicators, etc. then importing them into the latest version, also "how to" revert back to the previous version if the current version has issues?
In order to update MultiCharts to a newer version you need to download a new installer and start it. It will update your current MultiCharts to the version you have downloaded. There is no need in deleting your current version. All user data will remain unchanged.

That is recommended to do a backup of user data prior to upgrading to a new major version.
In order to revert to a previous version just uninstall your current version and run the installer file of an older one you need.


Return to “MultiCharts”