squeeze indicator for the scanner

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Jimmyrakete
Posts: 120
Joined: 04 Jun 2014
Has thanked: 2 times

squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby Jimmyrakete » 19 Jun 2014

Seeking the squeeze indicator for the scanner, ir can help one?

SP
Posts: 455
Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 283 times

Re: squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby SP » 19 Jun 2014

You mean the Keltner and Bollinger Bands Squeeze?

Code: Select all


Inputs:
Price (Close),
Length (20), { Length for Average True Range (ATR) & Std. Deviation (SD) Calcs }
nK (1.5), { Keltner Channel ATRs from Average }
nBB (2), { Bollinger Band Std. Devs. from Average }
AlertLine ( 1); { BBS_Index level at which to issue alerts }


Variables:
ATR (0), { Average True Range }
SDev (0), { Standard Deviation }
BBS_Ind (0), { Bollinger Band Squeeze Indicator }
Result (0),
DoWeHaveSqueeze (false),
SqueezeOnBar (currentbar);

ATR = AvgTrueRange(Length);
SDev = StandardDev(Price, Length, 1);
Result = (nK*ATR);

If Result<> 0 then BBS_Ind = (nBB * SDev) /Result;

if BBS_Ind crosses below AlertLine then
begin
SqueezeOnBar = CurrentBar ;
DoWeHaveSqueeze = true ;
end;

if BBS_Ind crosses above AlertLine then DoWeHaveSqueeze = false ;


if DoWeHaveSqueeze = true then
begin

if CurrentBar - SqueezeOnBar = 0 then
Plot1 ( " !! New Sqeeze !! " ,"Squeeze", black,red)
else
Plot1 ( " Squeeze valid since : " + numtostr( CurrentBar - SqueezeOnBar , 0 ) + " Bars" , " Squeeze", black,red);
end
else
begin
Plot1 ( " No Squeeze " , " Squeeze", black,white);
end;



robertwh
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Sep 2012

Re: squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby robertwh » 14 Dec 2014

I have Multichart 8 installed in my computer with Microsoft Windows 8.1 and the code doesn't work,
After compilation the Ready Status of the indicator is "NO".
However in Windows 7 it works.

Any help from Multicharts support is appreciated
Somebody had the same experience?


Any input

Thanks

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 15 Dec 2014

I have Multichart 8 installed in my computer with Microsoft Windows 8.1 and the code doesn't work,
After compilation the Ready Status of the indicator is "NO".
However in Windows 7 it works.
Hello robertwh,

Please follow the next instruction:
  1. Close MultiCharts and all its parts
  2. Make sure all MC processes are ended in Windows Task Manager. Here you can find the list of all MC processes: https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... _Processes
  3. Make a right-click on the icon of MultiCharts --> Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Change settings for all users --> Check the “Run this program as an administrator” --> OK --> OK
  4. Make a right-click on the icon of QuoteManager --> Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Change settings for all users --> Check the “Run this program as an administrator” --> OK --> OK
  5. Make a right-click on the icon of PowerLanguage Editor --> Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Change settings for all users --> Check the “Run this program as an administrator” --> OK --> OK
  6. Make a right-click on the icon of Portfolio Trader --> Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Change settings for all users --> Check the “Run this program as an administrator” --> OK --> OK
  7. Make a right-click on the icon of 3D Optimization --> Properties --> Compatibility tab --> Change settings for all users --> Check the “Run this program as an administrator” --> OK --> OK
  8. Launch the PowerLanguage Editor and compile all studies.
  9. The issues should be resolved.

robertwh
Posts: 10
Joined: 22 Sep 2012

Re: squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby robertwh » 15 Dec 2014

Hi Andrew:

I did all the procedure you mentioned below, but I had the same issue, Ready status = "NO" for the squeeze indicator.
Very strange situation.

Thanks a lot.

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: squeeze indicator for the scanner

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 15 Dec 2014

If the issue still persists, please come to our live chat during working hours (6:30 am – 2:45 pm EST) to let our operators connect to your computer remotely and help you: http://messenger.providesupport.com/mes ... pport.html


Return to “MultiCharts”