Autotrade Execution question

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
amadeu1
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 Feb 2008
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Autotrade Execution question

Postby amadeu1 » 07 Oct 2014

Lets suppose I have a moving average system like this on a 5 minute chart:

if c>average(c,50) then buy next bar at low-range limit;
if c<average(c,50) then sell short next bar at low+range limit;

Now lets assume there is a buy order at 1500 limit and the current price is 1505. Now the market moves down to 1500 and touches it (1 contract traded) and I am not filled because I am back in the queue. Now lets assume the market moves back up.

Is there a way that i autotrade this by adjusting my limit price up as soon as a better bid comes in ? This would mean like chasing the market up until I am filled.

How would you do that ?

Thanks

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Autotrade Execution question

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 08 Oct 2014

Hello amadeu1,

This option in settings of auto-trading should be helpful for you

amadeu1
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 Feb 2008
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Autotrade Execution question

Postby amadeu1 » 08 Oct 2014

I know this option but it just does not do what i described. I dont want to do a market order after a specific time period. I want to chase the market after a signal is triggered but I am not filled at the broker. Is that even possible to program in MC ?

maxmax68
Posts: 163
Joined: 20 Nov 2012
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Autotrade Execution question

Postby maxmax68 » 08 Oct 2014

Hi amadeu1,
for my understanding MC always does what you are asking.
If your code is:
if c>average(c,50) then buy next bar at low-range limit;
and condition is true then MC submits next bar a low-range limit order that stays for all bar time.
At next bar if condition is always true then MC cancels old limit order and submits a new low-range order, so if low goes up also limit order goes up.

Massimo

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: Autotrade Execution question

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 08 Oct 2014

I know this option but it just does not do what i described. I dont want to do a market order after a specific time period. I want to chase the market after a signal is triggered but I am not filled at the broker. Is that even possible to program in MC ?
If you want to move the order following the price, you can change the order's price on every code calculation base on last price on the chart.


Return to “MultiCharts”