Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
stefano84
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Has thanked: 2 times

Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby stefano84 » 09 Nov 2015

Hi

I have a problem. I can not understand the Portfolio Money Management Signal.
I have read several times and several days these pages:
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... y_Examples
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... M_Keywords
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... esPriority
but i still do not understand.

I'm looking for a simple strategy:
I have a signal that runs on 100 instruments (S&P100).
I would put of maximum 10 open position together and choose the positions based on a ranking on the net profit of my signal.



Can you help me please?

no erocla
Posts: 134
Joined: 31 May 2013
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby no erocla » 10 Nov 2015

Ciao Stefano

Put this in your Signal when buy/sell is triggered:
pmm_set_my_named_num("trigger",1);

Then, recall it in your Portfolio Signal and count how many strategies want to enter.
You must use 2d array.

Regards
No Erocla

stefano84
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby stefano84 » 10 Nov 2015

thanks for the reply Erocla!

An example to test if I understood:

If c crosses over average(c,200) then begin
pmm_set_my_named_num("trigger",1);
buy next bar at close;
end;

If c crosses under average(c,200) then begin
pmm_set_my_named_num("trigger",1);
sellshort next bar at close;
end;


If marketposition<>0 then
Sell ("TargetL") next bar at entryprice+xx limit;
If marketposition<>0 then
Buytocover ("TargetS") next bar at entryprice-xx limit;


Shall I put pmm_set_my_named_num("trigger",1) also in Sell and Buytocover instructions?

no erocla
Posts: 134
Joined: 31 May 2013
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby no erocla » 11 Nov 2015

Ciao Stefano,

code is correct, you don't need to trigger cover/sell signals, just count how many open position do you have at market:

array:strategyIndexes[](0);
pmms_strategies_in_positions_count(strategyIndexes);

Obviously, you have to count it in your Portfolio Trader Signal.

Regards
No Erocla

no erocla
Posts: 134
Joined: 31 May 2013
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby no erocla » 11 Dec 2015

Hi Stefano,

did you finally solved your problem ?

No Erocla

stefano84
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Problem with Portfolio Money Management Signal.

Postby stefano84 » 15 Dec 2015

hi no erocla!

I found this:
http://www.multicharts.com/discussion/v ... 0&p=117449
It was very helpful to me.

The problem is that it does not go on different strategies.
I described the problem better in this post:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=49195

For the rankings instead use the Portfolio_Rotation Signal and Portfolio_Rotation_MM Signal available as default in Multicharts.
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... y_Examples


BUT ALWAYS REMAIN THE PROBLEM THAT DOES NOT WORK ON DIFFERENT STRATEGIES AND SIGNALS.


I hope to be able to explain my problem. I apologize for my English (I'm a Italian trader).

Thank you very much, for your help.

Stefano


Return to “MultiCharts”