compile error:"line 0, column 0"  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
swisstrader
Posts: 110
Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby swisstrader » 05 Feb 2017

I've exported a x.pla file from my MC64 editor v10 b13626.
This pla file I've imported in a MC 32 bit editor v10 b13625.

I get always the error: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

This here did not help to solve the issue.
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... lumnEnd_0)

Please advise how to solve the issue or confirm that this is a bug in v10.

Thank you.

-swisstrader
Last edited by swisstrader on 15 Feb 2017, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 06 Feb 2017

Hello swisstrader,

Please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 1 pm EST.
To do that click on Live Chat icon at the top of our web page https://www.multicharts.com/
We will do our best to help you.

stefanols
Posts: 51
Joined: 01 Jan 2014
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby stefanols » 06 Feb 2017

Hi,

I can confirm that I also get this error once in a while.

So far it has been enough to restart the PC and then it works again.

When you restart you have to recompile.
Because there is no error in the code.

Would be good it if could be fixed.

Best regards

Stefan
Last edited by stefanols on 06 Feb 2017, edited 1 time in total.

evdl
Posts: 401
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 85 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby evdl » 06 Feb 2017

Have the same experience with this as Stefanois.

Once in a while this error occures. Restart of MC alone does not work, you have to restart the PC as well.

Gaempi
Posts: 49
Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Gaempi » 07 Feb 2017

I had the same issue. Only a restart of the workstation helps.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 07 Feb 2017

stefanols, evdl, Gaempi,

If you are running Windows 10 then such error can appear after a system update was installed.
You need to reboot you PC to be able to compile the studies.
This is a system error in the address spacing that we cannot affect.

User avatar
swisstrader
Posts: 110
Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby swisstrader » 07 Feb 2017

I'm running Windows 7 x64 SP1. I could for more than 15 months successfully avoid to get forced the hidden installation of Windows 10 by MicroShit updates.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 08 Feb 2017

swisstrader,

I have already replied to your inquiry above:
Hello swisstrader,

Please come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 1 pm EST.
To do that click on Live Chat icon at the top of our web page https://www.multicharts.com/
We will do our best to help you.

User avatar
swisstrader
Posts: 110
Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby swisstrader » 15 Feb 2017

Thanks Henry, I'll wait for the next release of MC64 v10.

-swisstrader

tony
Posts: 420
Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 80 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby tony » 15 Feb 2017

In about 3-4 years I have experienced it only 2. Each time I had to change the registry entry per the wiki instructions, reboot my machine and voila, it was back. I haven't had to change the directory path per the wiki instructions either time. Just a registry edit and reboot. Not a huge deal in my opinion regarding frequency.

Gaempi
Posts: 49
Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Gaempi » 19 Sep 2017

Hello

I have installed MC 11 R2 today. After that i got compile error:"line 0, column 0" compiling strategies. i have reinstalled (repaired) MC 11 R2 and rebooted the workstation, but i got the same error message again and again.

What i have to do? What tony (above) recommend? how can i change the registry entry an what i have to change?

Thanks!

User avatar
LRP
Posts: 133
Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby LRP » 19 Sep 2017

I had the same problem. Deinstall (not repair) MC and install again, that fixed the problem at my side.

Flatstrap
Posts: 8
Joined: 15 Feb 2014
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"  [SOLVED]

Postby Flatstrap » 12 Apr 2018

Hi guys, I've been having the same issue on Windows 10 x64 running Multicharts 11.0 Release (Build 14943). To solve I
1. shutdown multicharts and checked all multicharts processes were killed.
2. cleared the following TEMP directory
C:\Users\%usename%\AppData\Local\Temp - the %usename% is your login name for that PC.

It's similar to the wiki, however I didn't change the TEMP or TMP directory location, just cleared it (#note when you clear the TEMP directory some files can be deleted as they are in use, just skip them.)
wiki: https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... lumnEnd_0)

Editing the registry and moving the study server didn't fix the problem for me, how ever I did do that prior to clearing the temp directory, so maybe doing both resolved it?

Hope this helps someone.
Flatstrap

khalaad
Posts: 317
Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 57 times

compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby khalaad » 26 Sep 2018

Don't remember a single instance of compile error line 0, column 0 with MultiCharts 11 :)
No so with MultiCharts 12 64-bit Release Version: 12.0.16868 :(
Khalid

User avatar
c0ntango
Posts: 25
Joined: 13 Sep 2018
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby c0ntango » 26 Sep 2018

Hi Everyone,

The v12 of MultiCharts seems to solve many problems with the way the optimizer handles studies that are currently being used on charts, and many other issues. However you are right - unfortunately the "Compile error" issue seems to show up much much more often for me as well.

At least one part of the issue, I've found, has to do with administrative privileges and file access rights.

What seems to have fixed the issue for me a couple of times was following these steps:

1. Set all MC executables to run with admin rights (click the "advanced" button on the properties of the shortcut and click the "run as administrator" checkbox). Do it on every executable including quotemanager,

2. Kill all MC executables or just reboot the computer,

3. When re-starting, only start the powerlanguage editor first, don't start any other executables,

4. Re-compile ALL studies functions and indicators manually using the function under the "Compile" menu.

You're done. If it didn't work, then try the following:

1. Do a backup using MC's backup app,

2. Kill all MC executables or just reboot the computer,

3. Do a full restore & recompile of all studies functions and indicators from the backup you just made,

I hope this helps.

-Ben

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7192
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 2049 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby TJ » 27 Sep 2018

Hi Everyone,

The v12 of MultiCharts seems to solve many problems with the way the optimizer handles studies that are currently being used on charts, and many other issues. However you are right - unfortunately the "Compile error" issue seems to show up much much more often for me as well.

At least one part of the issue, I've found, has to do with administrative privileges and file access rights.

. . .

-Ben

"Administrative privileges and file access rights" are the basic requirements of using the Windows operating system. It has nothing to do with MultiCharts. This is like driving a car, if you do not have the keys to the car, you cannot open the doors or start the engine. Having a driving license will not help you.

User avatar
c0ntango
Posts: 25
Joined: 13 Sep 2018
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby c0ntango » 27 Sep 2018

Hi TJ,

Yes., however sometimes situations arise that cause conflicts.

For example, in order to run the TS data connector plugin, you will need to run MC with administrative privileges. And if the studies on the charts are compiled by another user, then you will probably be required to recompile them as admin in order for them to run. And then when you stop running the TS connection and want to go back to running MC as a normal user, you can't do it anymore because you have no rights to run the studies. This is one example where I ran into an issue with a lot of compile errors.

However, for the interest of full disclosure I have to add,, the solution above does not solve the problem 100% of the time. On v12 and on some studies I'm still getting compile errors with nothing specified, and I'm still trying to figure out why, so if someone has a better idea what to check then please share. It might be that I just didn't thoroughly recompile everything from scratch though - as other users say a reinstall solves te problem, and if that's true then my theory about privileges could be correct.

-Ben

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7192
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 2049 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby TJ » 27 Sep 2018

What is your Windows version?

Are you using a remote host computer?
Is this a shared computer?

When you are installing MC, you must install as an Administrator.
You must check to make sure you have read and write privileges to all the directories and subdirectories.

User avatar
c0ntango
Posts: 25
Joined: 13 Sep 2018
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby c0ntango » 27 Sep 2018

Windows 10, it's a local computer, not shared and I have the privileges :)

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7192
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 990 times
Been thanked: 2049 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby TJ » 27 Sep 2018

Windows 10, it's a local computer, not shared and I have the privileges :)

Which W10 version?

User avatar
c0ntango
Posts: 25
Joined: 13 Sep 2018
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby c0ntango » 27 Sep 2018

Windows 10 pro 64 bit, 1803 build 17134.286

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 05 Oct 2018

Don't remember a single instance of compile error line 0, column 0 with MultiCharts 11 :)
No so with MultiCharts 12 64-bit Release Version: 12.0.16868 :(
unfortunately the "Compile error" issue seems to show up much much more often for me as well.
At least one part of the issue, I've found, has to do with administrative privileges and file access rights.
The Compiler Error may occur regardless of the MultiCharts version installed. In most cases it is an issue with the short paths being disabled in the Windows Registry (NtfsDisable8dot3NameCreation) or the address spacing issue after installing a Windows update.

If you are running Windows 10, and the compilation worked without this error before, then it can start appearing after a system update was installed. This has been the most frequent reason for the error due to the increased market share of Windows 10 in recent times. You need to do a clean reboot of your PC (without any updates being applied) to be able to compile the studies.

If that is not the case - please follow these instructions to resolve the issue:
http://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... mnEnd_0%29
In most of the cases we can also tell what specifially needs to be done by examining your compiler_error.log from C:\ProgramData\TS Support\MultiCharts64\StudyServer\Studies\

Since MultiCharts 12 Release 2, the installer sets the proper NtfsDisable8dot3NameCreation value and tells you to reboot the PC (if required) to continue the installation. This prevents the error that is related to the disabled short paths from happening on a clean installation.
Since MultiCharts 12 Release 3, the file access rights are being checked and granted (if necessary) upon starting PowerLanguage Editor.
We continue to work on the subject and are going to have more improvements in the future versions.

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 22 Oct 2018

Hello, I had this error and chaneged a lot according to the 'tutorial' around this issue. Now the error log shows this:

internal error in mingw32_gt_pch_use_address, at config/i386/host-mingw32.c:171: MapViewOfFileEx: Es wurde versucht, auf eine unzulässige Adresse zuzugreifen.

The last part means: Tried to access an invalid adress

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Oct 2018

Hello, I had this error and chaneged a lot according to the 'tutorial' around this issue. Now the error log shows this:

internal error in mingw32_gt_pch_use_address, at config/i386/host-mingw32.c:171: MapViewOfFileEx: Es wurde versucht, auf eine unzulässige Adresse zuzugreifen.

The last part means: Tried to access an invalid adress
Please close MultiCharts and all of its processes. Make sure that no processes with MultiCharts in Description remain in Task Manager -> Processes (Win7) or Details (Win8) tab: 
http://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... _Processes 
After that is done go to the Windows Control Panel-> Programs and Features -> MultiCharts64 -> double left click –> Next-> Repair.

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 23 Oct 2018

Hello Henry,

I reinstalled MC64. Closed all processes, rebooted, deinstalled, rebooted, installed. But I did this with keeping data and settings.
Still get the same error. I will try to repair as well, but I think this won't help in this case.

stefanols
Posts: 51
Joined: 01 Jan 2014
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby stefanols » 23 Oct 2018

Is it on all indicators or just a specific one?

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 23 Oct 2018

On all I think. This is a live system thus I stoped producing errors

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 23 Oct 2018

Downgrading to 11? I am using MC from the first version on. Never had this issue before. This error is crucial for me.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 23 Oct 2018

Downgrading is not a solution. Please contact us via email or the live chat.

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 24 Oct 2018

I downgraded, upgraded again. Used different folders. At the moment it is working. But there is still something in the compiler log:

C:\PROGRA~1\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\make\MinGW64\bin\dlltool: Path components stripped from dllname, 'C:\PROGRA~3\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\STUDYS~1\Studies\SrcCpp\INDICA~1\IA__RO~1.dll'.
C:\PROGRA~1\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\make\MinGW64\bin\dlltool: Path components stripped from dllname, 'C:\PROGRA~3\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\STUDYS~1\Studies\SrcCpp\INDICA~1\IA__RO~1.dll'.

Is this an issue?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9092
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1258 times
Been thanked: 2923 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 31 Oct 2018

I downgraded, upgraded again. Used different folders. At the moment it is working. But there is still something in the compiler log:

C:\PROGRA~1\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\make\MinGW64\bin\dlltool: Path components stripped from dllname, 'C:\PROGRA~3\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\STUDYS~1\Studies\SrcCpp\INDICA~1\IA__RO~1.dll'.
C:\PROGRA~1\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\make\MinGW64\bin\dlltool: Path components stripped from dllname, 'C:\PROGRA~3\TSSUPP~1\MULTIC~1\STUDYS~1\Studies\SrcCpp\INDICA~1\IA__RO~1.dll'.

Is this an issue?
If the studies are compiled ok then these messages should be ignored.

lantama
Posts: 96
Joined: 20 Apr 2008
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: compile error:"line 0, column 0"

Postby lantama » 31 Oct 2018

Okay, fine. Thanks


Return to “MultiCharts”