If/Then = false but still get signal.

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Rick Webber
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times

If/Then = false but still get signal.

Postby Rick Webber » 08 May 2017

So I've identified at least 3 variables that will return a false yet I will get a signal as if they were true. I've restarted program, created a new signal via copy/paste, moved variables around, even did a repair but am still getting signals where they shouldn't be. Just looking for some new idea's. Variables are all correct returns, just not getting proper response. Stuck.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7319
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2085 times

Re: If/Then = false but still get signal.

Postby TJ » 08 May 2017

So I've identified at least 3 variables that will return a false yet I will get a signal as if they were true. I've restarted program, created a new signal via copy/paste, moved variables around, even did a repair but am still getting signals where they shouldn't be. Just looking for some new idea's. Variables are all correct returns, just not getting proper response. Stuck.

you are missing an

ELSE

Rick Webber
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: If/Then = false but still get signal.

Postby Rick Webber » 08 May 2017

Thanks for response.

If condition1 = true then Buy next bar at market;

What is happening is that condition 1 = false but it is still buying next bar at market.

Not sure how ELSE would help here.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7319
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2085 times

Re: If/Then = false but still get signal.

Postby TJ » 08 May 2017

This is a coding error.

The devil is in the details.

Not sure how anybody can help you without the codes.


Return to “MultiCharts”