CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
khalaad
Posts: 323
Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 57 times

CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Postby khalaad » 15 Sep 2017

I cannot get any kind of STOP to work with any strategy when back testing. The attached screenshots show a:

• Long only trade becoming a buy and hold; and
• Short only trade becoming sell and hold;

because stops did not execute.

Cannot for the life of me figure out why such is happening; any ideas and help would be gratefully appreciated. I have not bothered with back testing for nearly 4 years and feel totally lost.

I use MultiCharts64 Version 11.0 Release (Build 14734).

Thank you.

Khalid
Attachments
STOP Error_Long.jpg
(235.46 KiB) Downloaded 596 times
STOP Error_Short.jpg
(234.37 KiB) Downloaded 596 times

User avatar
Anna MultiCharts
Posts: 560
Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 141 times

Re: CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Postby Anna MultiCharts » 22 Sep 2017

Hello, khalaad!

The symbols from OANDA are coming with Big Point Value = 1. 1 in MultiCharts = 1 contract. But as far as OANDA symbols are traded in lots it’s advisable to change the Big Point Value according to the lot size on your account. For example, if the lot size on your account is 10000, please specify 10000 in the Big Point Value field.
Please, find how to change the Big Point Value here:
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... Properties

khalaad
Posts: 323
Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Postby khalaad » 25 Sep 2017

Thank you, Anna, for posting a reply. :)

I am sorry I have not been able to make much of what you have said; perhaps the stop in question is _Percent Exit Pair which has no Big Point Value in the code.

Code: Select all

inputs:
ProfitTargetPct( 0 ),
StopLossPct( .37 ) ;

SetStopShare ;
if MarketPosition <> 0 then
begin
if ProfitTargetPct > 0 then
SetProfitTarget( EntryPrice * ProfitTargetPct ) ;
if StopLossPct > 0 then
SetStopLoss( EntryPrice * StopLossPct ) ;
end
else
begin
if ProfitTargetPct > 0 then
SetProfitTarget( Close * ProfitTargetPct ) ;
if StopLossPct > 0 then
SetStopLoss( Close * StopLossPct ) ;
end ;
Anyway, I have now sorted all stops issues, except for the percentage stops.

Khalid

User avatar
Anna MultiCharts
Posts: 560
Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 141 times

Re: CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Postby Anna MultiCharts » 25 Sep 2017

Khalaad,
Big Point Value allows adjusting the Lot size and cannot be set from the code. Please, go to File -> New -> QuoteManager -> right-click on the symbol -> Edit Symbol -> Settings tab -> Big Point Value.

User avatar
pcrespo
Posts: 49
Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: CANNOT EXECUTE STOPS WHEN BACK TESTING

Postby pcrespo » 09 Oct 2017

If I'm not mistaken, the unit for the parameter of "setstoploss" is currency, not points. EntryPrice and Close are in units of points. I think all you need to do is multiply by bigpointvalue (a reserved word), as in:

setstoploss( EntryPrice * StopLossPct * bigpointvalue )

Make sure your settings in Quote Manager are correct for that instrument's big point value, as the reserved word pulls the value from QM.


Return to “MultiCharts”