How do I correctly sync strategy to live positions?  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
firemag
Posts: 21
Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Been thanked: 2 times

How do I correctly sync strategy to live positions?

Postby firemag » 22 Oct 2017

I have a strategy that I am just turning on live. According to the strategy, it entered a short position Oct 18. I manually entered a short position when the market opened tonight (Oct 22). Now I want to turn automation on for this strategy. I would like to strategy to trade as though its short position on Oct 18 is the actual trade at the broker (even though my manual entry price was different).

Here is the scenario:

10-22-2017 8-40-26 PM.png
10-22-2017 8-40-26 PM.png (72.68 KiB) Viewed 149 times


I thought that the settings I needed were as follows:

10-22-2017 8-41-07 PM.png
10-22-2017 8-41-07 PM.png (48.94 KiB) Viewed 149 times


But this produces rejected orders:

10-22-2017 8-38-32 PM.png
10-22-2017 8-38-32 PM.png (206.16 KiB) Viewed 149 times


I think I am misunderstanding the use of these settings. I've read through the documentation and it sounds like these settings should sync my strategy up with the current positions held at the broker.

I have tried both "Assume the Initial Market Position at the Broker is the SAME AS on the CHART" and "Use the actual position at the broker" and they both yield rejected order errors.

So I have two questions:

1. Why are orders even being placed? I already have the positions at the broker. I don't want to place orders, but just have the real position at the broker managed by the automated strategy.

2. What do I need to do in order to have the strategy manage the position I manually placed at the broker?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8516
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2735 times

Re: How do I correctly sync strategy to live positions?

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 24 Oct 2017

Hello firemag,

According to the errors you have - you have not configured the symbol mapping. So the platform does not know that it needs to look at GAIN symbol and position when trading from TS chart. Please configure it and start the auto trading:
http://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... ol_Mapping
As for the "Assign position" options - you have used the proper options.

firemag
Posts: 21
Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How do I correctly sync strategy to live positions?

Postby firemag » 24 Oct 2017

Henry MultiСharts wrote:According to the errors you have - you have not configured the symbol mapping. So the platform does not know that it needs to look at GAIN symbol and position when trading from TS chart. Please configure it and start the auto trading:
http://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... ol_Mapping
I think that the symbol mapping is correct. Here is what I have:

10-24-2017 9-53-20 AM.png
10-24-2017 9-53-20 AM.png (209.41 KiB) Viewed 118 times


Plus, the symbol mapping did work correctly because I placed a trade (via Chart Trader) using the same chart that has the strategy and the trade went to, and was filled by, GAIN correctly.

Is there something else that can be wrong, or some other issue with symbol mapping?

As for the "Assign position" options - you have used the proper options.
But why did MC try to place orders when I used these options? I figured that MC would have just internally sync'ed the strategy with the open position?

firemag
Posts: 21
Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How do I correctly sync strategy to live positions?  [SOLVED]

Postby firemag » 07 Nov 2017

Update.... Henry accessed my system remotely and helped resolve this issue. The trades being entered incorrectly was a wholly unrelated issue on my end and not due to the "Assign position" settings. The mapping was correct for BO, but needed a special multiplier added to the symbol description so that it would convert the price data into the correct format from TS -> GAIN.
These users thanked the author firemag for the post:
Henry MultiСharts


Return to “MultiCharts”