Future-COMBOS

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
PK1

Future-COMBOS

Postby PK1 » 28 Aug 2018

Hello,

since Version 11 Multicharts offers Combos/Composites and the info tells me that this only focuses on charting and not trading. That's fine for me. Since a while I started trading spreads of the CL-Future but with my own indicator. With Version 12 I started to check MC-Functionality I didn't use so far, including the charting of Combos. There are mainly two things, I'll try to explain and emphasizing my final questions with bold text:

1. The tab-pages for selecting of an instrument has been extended on several places of MC but not in the Format Instrument-Dialog. There a combo can only be found unterneath "All Instruments". As with the other places such a tab-page for combos would be what one is expecting, it's just forgotten here. For cryptocurrencies it's there.

2. I wonder where the (partly wrong) data for a combo is coming from. Let me explain this: On some combinations of futures the exchange offers native combos. IB as my broker and data provider has this and MC is supporting IB when it comes to combos. So that part should be fine.

2.1. My example is a native combo traded in IB and charted in IB and MC --> CLZ8/CLX8. As I could see MC is using exactly the last price of the native combo, which is as I'd expect it. Another possibility is deriving the combo from the two underlying instruments which would lead to distinctions because of a different order book when it comes to native combos. Does MC really check whether there are native combos because many spreads are not native and just put together.