Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
idodo
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 May 2019
Has thanked: 6 times

Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby idodo » 13 Feb 2021

Hi Guys,

Sometimes, when making a change to the code and recompiling, not all indicators are reloading and I have to reload them manually.
It is very annoying, is it only me!?
I could not find any comments about that.
Sometimes it works great, so maybe there is a workaround so I can avoid it?

Thanks,
Ido

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby TJ » 13 Feb 2021

What kind of changes did you do?

What kind of updates that are not updating?

idodo
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 May 2019
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby idodo » 14 Feb 2021

There is a signal on Chart 1 (main), but signal can't plot, so I have 2 indicators for plotting.
1st ndicator on chart 1 for plotting values close enough to symbol values (e.g. moving average)
2nd indicator on chart 2 for plotting flags (0/1) or other small values.

Now, making a change in the signal code or functions that are used in the code and then recompile.
All charts are updated including the 2 plotting indicators they plot the updated values that were sent from the signal.
But....
Sometimes the 2 plotting indicators (or one of them) do not update and shows all values as zero.
Then, turning the indicator off and on, restart it and it shows the values correctly.

idodo
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 May 2019
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby idodo » 14 Feb 2021

Just to clarify...
I am taking about backtesting offline mode

wilkinsw
Posts: 662
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby wilkinsw » 15 Feb 2021

I too run into this issue from time to time on indicators using i_getplotvalue, when i recomplile the signal with corresponding i_setplotvalue.

User avatar
Kate MultiCharts
Posts: 575
Joined: 21 Oct 2020
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 144 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby Kate MultiCharts » 23 Feb 2021

Hello Ido,

An indicator is not recalculated when a signal is recompiled.
It can be recalculated if a function used in the indicator code is recompiled.

idodo
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 May 2019
Has thanked: 6 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby idodo » 23 Feb 2021

Hi Kate,

In that case, why it sometimes actually recalculated?
There are no functions in the Indicators, they are just used for Plotting (using i_getplotvalue). Sometime they do recalculated after recompile of the Signal.
As I wrote:
"There is a signal on Chart 1 (main), but signal can't plot, so I have 2 indicators for plotting.
1st ndicator on chart 1 for plotting values close enough to symbol values (e.g. moving average)
2nd indicator on chart 2 for plotting flags (0/1) or other small values.

Now, making a change in the signal code or functions that are used in the code and then recompile.
All charts are updated including the 2 plotting indicators they plot the updated values that were sent from the signal.
But....
Sometimes the 2 plotting indicators (or one of them) do not update and shows all values as zero.
Then, turning the indicator off and on, restart it and it shows the values correctly."

Ido

User avatar
Kate MultiCharts
Posts: 575
Joined: 21 Oct 2020
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 144 times

Re: Why sometimes not all indicators are reloading?

Postby Kate MultiCharts » 25 Feb 2021

Hi Kate,

In that case, why it sometimes actually recalculated?
There are no functions in the Indicators, they are just used for Plotting (using i_getplotvalue). Sometime they do recalculated after recompile of the Signal.
As I wrote:
"There is a signal on Chart 1 (main), but signal can't plot, so I have 2 indicators for plotting.
1st ndicator on chart 1 for plotting values close enough to symbol values (e.g. moving average)
2nd indicator on chart 2 for plotting flags (0/1) or other small values.

Now, making a change in the signal code or functions that are used in the code and then recompile.
All charts are updated including the 2 plotting indicators they plot the updated values that were sent from the signal.
But....
Sometimes the 2 plotting indicators (or one of them) do not update and shows all values as zero.
Then, turning the indicator off and on, restart it and it shows the values correctly."

Ido
Hello Ido,

Please reproduce this behaviour in a test workspace in Offline mode and make a video demonstrating it.

Then please send us the following files:
1. Your workspace
2. Export of your study in the PLA format
3. Export of data for your instrument
4. Video demonstrating the behaviour


Return to “MultiCharts”