[Bug Report] MC V5.5 Beta 3 => Not Enough Memory

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

[Bug Report] MC V5.5 Beta 3 => Not Enough Memory

Postby 2haerim » 24 Jul 2009

Code: Select all

if MarketPosition = 0 then
if mod(time,2) = 0 then
buy next bar at market
else
sellshort next bar at market
else if MarketPosition = 1 then
sellshort next bar at market
else if MarketPosition = -1 then
buy next bar at market;

[1] Plot 1-min bar chart for 10 years period
[2] Apply the above signal.
[3] STD Exception: no enough memory will appear.

See attached screen shot. It will show VM usage too.
Attachments
NotEnoughMemory.PNG
(264.2 KiB) Downloaded 2062 times

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 28 Jul 2009

The signal is not representative. It generates about 3 millions of trades - the same number of bars you have for 10 years. If you have a problem with a real strategy please send us a code. Otherwise we consider it is as artificial example, not a bug.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 28 Jul 2009

if my math is correct it is actually 5,256,000 bars(trades) !

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 28 Jul 2009

10 years*250 trading days*1440 minutes= 3.6 M

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 28 Jul 2009

10 years*250 trading days*1440 minutes= 3.6 M
Andrew: * I wasn't thinking of "trading days", just 10 years of days. you're correct of course.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 28 Jul 2009

ok guys,

I agree that too many (yes too man!) signals, but I just thought as long as there is enough VM, no memory exception would be raised.

Anyway, this is not realistic, and I will forget about this exception.

Thank you all.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 29 Jul 2009

I want to believe someday we will migrate to x64 architecture and it will allow you to use unlimited number of bars as far as you have enough RAM.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Postby TJ » 29 Jul 2009

I want to believe someday we will migrate to x64 architecture and it will allow you to use unlimited number of bars as far as you have enough RAM.
:D :D :D

MultiCharts leading the way again !

Shaanny
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Oct 2012

Re: [Bug Report] MC V5.5 Beta 3 => Not Enough Memory

Postby Shaanny » 01 Oct 2012

Yeah, you are right and i totally agree with you.


Return to “MultiCharts”