custom tool bar question (other feature wishes)

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
bowlesj3
Posts: 2112
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 202 times
Been thanked: 420 times

custom tool bar question (other feature wishes)

Postby bowlesj3 » 22 Nov 2009

Can we put more than one color of arrow, arc or trend line (more than one definition) on the custom tool bar?

How many custom tool bars can be defined?


Thanks,
John.
Last edited by bowlesj3 on 22 Nov 2009, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7231
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2056 times

Postby TJ » 22 Nov 2009

in light of the advertised "object-oriented user interface",
this feature is a logical expectation.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2112
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 202 times
Been thanked: 420 times

Postby bowlesj3 » 22 Nov 2009

I thought custom tool bars were coming in version5.5 but it sounds like a delay has occured.

What I am itching for that MC 2.1.999.999 does not have are:

1/ custom tool bars so I can have different colors of arcs, trend lines and arrows predefined ready to go (Different lengths of arrows and styles as well). They will have different functions and the EL code will find them (determine their color or whatever) and do whatever - MC as an interactive tool.

2/ The ability to clear the arc of the chart using a loop just like trend lines. Something I can do for all charts at once with a single GV setting (one button click). I personally can't see any need to manipulate the arc like a trend line.

2a/ the ability to find arcs and determine their color I could use. I could semi automate my system actually (arcs of different colors representing some of the criteria for a trade - place them as I find the criteria visually and when done click the button co clear it all ready for the next trade - almost like painting by numbers :wink: )

3/ replay that is super fast and easy and can instantly hide the right side of the chart where I click (all charts) - rather than centering them as it does now.

4/ and maybe the most important is the ability to move an arrow and still see the cross hair so I can drop it perfectly the first time. Why should the cross hair vanish when you move something (especially an arrow)?

5/ And maybe (an idea obtained from the missing ticks issue) an option to bypass duplicate price ticks if the study is falling behind. But not for the last tick of the bar nor the first tick of the bar - I don't use volume so I don't care if a duplicate priced tick gets missed (speed up features like that would be helpful during fast markets) . Also include access to tick arrival time and master tick number for auditing my studies to help me get them as fast as possible without bringing MC to its knees (easy to do with an infinit loop and numerous levels before that extreme).

I will look in the sky tonight for the MC star to wish upon :D

flipflopper
Posts: 261
Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby flipflopper » 01 Dec 2009

I agree. Custom drawing toolbar would be great!!

http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.php?t=6754

miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby miltonc4 » 01 Dec 2009

Hi
Please dont forget about coloring chart background EG,if price above MAvge,color backgound Blue,as one example
Thanks
Milton

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7231
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2056 times

Postby TJ » 01 Dec 2009

Hi
Please dont forget about coloring chart background EG,if price above MAvge,color backgound Blue,as one example
Thanks
Milton

as a make gap solution...

you can use a thick plot to create a colored background.
I do that to a number of my indicators (incl MA), and it looks great.

I can post the code if you need to.

miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby miltonc4 » 02 Dec 2009

Hi TJ
Thanks your response,a sample code of how you do it would be greatly appreciated,as I am considered a poor at programming,but learning slowly
Thanks
Milton

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7231
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2056 times

Postby TJ » 02 Dec 2009


miltonc4
Posts: 150
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby miltonc4 » 02 Dec 2009

Thank you TJ
Milton

Spaceant
Posts: 253
Joined: 30 May 2009
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby Spaceant » 02 Dec 2009

I tried to plot the "paint-town-red" indicator, but I can't find
"Expand Scale to Indicator" under Scaling.......

I am using MC 5.0 Gold.

Where is that?

Sa

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7231
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2056 times

Postby TJ » 02 Dec 2009

pls upgrade to 5.5

Spaceant
Posts: 253
Joined: 30 May 2009
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby Spaceant » 08 Dec 2009

Having upgraded to 5.5, I still can't find
"Expand Scale to Indicator" under Scaling.......

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7231
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 991 times
Been thanked: 2056 times

Postby TJ » 08 Dec 2009

Having upgraded to 5.5, I still can't find
"Expand Scale to Indicator" under Scaling.......
see the name of the window ? (top left corner)

right click on the chart,

select FORMAT SYMBOL


Return to “MultiCharts”