Help with ASCII Import

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
duration
Posts: 179
Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Been thanked: 1 time

Help with ASCII Import

Postby duration » 25 Oct 2010

Hello,

I have some FOREX historical data in .csv files. Here is a sample:

Code: Select all

Time,Ask,Bid,AskVolume,BidVolume
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10.8,10.8
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10,5.6
2007.05.21 07:27:29,1.972,1.97175,10,26
It seems that date & time need separate fields for the import..

Is it possible to "merge" the date & time fields using a "yyyy.mm.dd hh:mm:ss" custom format?

Many thanks,

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 489 times

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby Dave Masalov » 27 Oct 2010

Dear duration,

You should manually set that the data is in the right format for the first column and time is in the right format for the second column. Then you need to check if the columns are defined correctly and correct them if needed.

duration
Posts: 179
Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby duration » 15 Nov 2010

Dear duration,

You should manually set that the data is in the right format for the first column and time is in the right format for the second column. Then you need to check if the columns are defined correctly and correct them if needed.
Hello Dave,

Thank you for your reply.

How can I manually set the data in the right way?

Can I do it from QuoteManager?

Many thanks,

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 489 times

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby Dave Masalov » 15 Nov 2010

Dear duration,

Yes you can do it in Quote Manager --> File --> ASCII Import. Firstly, you need to enable "space" as field delimeter.

duration
Posts: 179
Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby duration » 16 Nov 2010

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your reply.

When I add the space delimiter, the last column disappears...:

Code: Select all

Time,Ask,Bid,AskVolume,BidVolume
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10.8,10.8
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10,5.6
2007.05.21 07:27:29,1.972,1.97175,10,26
becomes

Code: Select all

Time,Ask,Bid,AskVolume,BidVolume
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10.8
2007.05.21 07:27:28,1.972,1.9718,10
2007.05.21 07:27:29,1.972,1.97175,10
Is this normal?

Also, how can I ignore a column so that it is not imported?

Many thanks,

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 489 times

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby Dave Masalov » 16 Nov 2010

Dear duration,

If you change "Start at Row" from 2 to 1 and back, the 6th column will appear. This is a confirmed issue: https://www.multicharts.com/pm/viewissu ... e_no=MC-54

To ignore a column, just set it as Undefined.

duration
Posts: 179
Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby duration » 16 Nov 2010

Dear Dave,

Thank you for the tips.

I have a few other questions:

1. Some ticks have a volume expressed in decimals (10.8 etc.) and QuoteManager seems to only accept integers. It displays the volume between quotes "" and then gives me an error message when I try to import the data. Is there anything I can do about this?

2. If I import the same sample of data twice on the same instrument, does it overwrite the data, merge the data, or does nothing?

Many thanks,

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 489 times

Re: Help with ASCII Import

Postby Dave Masalov » 17 Nov 2010

Dear duration,

1. This is expected behavior. I have forwarded your suggestion to support volume with decimals to the developers.

2. The data will be overwritten.


Return to “MultiCharts”