To change to have more decimal places for indicator values

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
LMC
Posts: 28
Joined: 08 Jul 2010

To change to have more decimal places for indicator values

Postby LMC » 26 Jan 2011

Hi,

In Data Windows, it only shows 2 decimal places for indicator values. How can I change it such that say, 10 decimal places will be displayed ? Thanks.

LMC

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator valu

Postby Dave Masalov » 26 Jan 2011

Dear LMC,

The number of decimal places in Data Window is set automatically. If the values of your indicator have more than two decimals, all of them will be displayed. If you want to set the number of decimals manually, please submit a feature request in Project Management.

LMC
Posts: 28
Joined: 08 Jul 2010

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator valu

Postby LMC » 26 Jan 2011

Hi Dave,

I'm sure the indicators have more than 2 decimal places but somehow it seems that they are rounded up to just 2. I export the data for calculation in Excel, there are about 10 decimal places.
Now, both in Data Window and data file export they just show 2 decimal places.

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator valu

Postby Dave Masalov » 27 Jan 2011

Dear LMC,

You need to specify this in your code, for example Close:1:5 means 1 integer and 5 decimals.

LMC
Posts: 28
Joined: 08 Jul 2010

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator valu

Postby LMC » 28 Jan 2011

Thanks.

User avatar
Dave Masalov
Posts: 1712
Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 487 times

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator valu

Postby Dave Masalov » 28 Jan 2011

You are welcome.

Automeq
Posts: 103
Joined: 16 Apr 2014
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator values

Postby Automeq » 22 Feb 2019

If I have an indicator in screening with simply:

Code: Select all

plot1(v)
plot2(v[5])
I'm getting volume with 5 decimals. Is it possible to have just the integer (I have similar problem with other indicators where I just want 2 decimals and get 5).

I read the reference above about Close:1:5 but I don't get how to insert it in the code.

User avatar
Anna MultiCharts
Posts: 461
Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 113 times

Re: To change to have more decimal places for indicator values

Postby Anna MultiCharts » 27 Feb 2019

Automeq,

"Close:1:5" serves only for the display, it doesn’t affect the number itself. If you need to round off, please use the Round command:
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... .php/Round


Return to “MultiCharts”