IB Gateway, MC discontinue receiving realtime data

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

IB Gateway, MC discontinue receiving realtime data

Postby templ » 21 Apr 2011

Hello,

I use IB Gateway and set in QM for IB Data Source port to 4001.
Everything looks fine and MC is receiving data.

But:
1. if market data session finish, MC discontinue receiving realtime data, with new session.
2. or if I restart MC and QM, MC dont continue receiving realtime data from IB Gateway. MC pops up a TWS login window and dont connect to IB Gateway. If I close the TWS login still no connection

3. I did start a TWS after ~45 minutes and than MC re-connects to IB Gateway.
Than I see in IB Gateway API-log and QM event-log, there is a new Client-ID. And MC now, continue receiving realtime data.


Thanks for helping

User avatar
siscop
Posts: 192
Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: IB Gateway, MC discontinue receiving realtime data

Postby siscop » 21 Apr 2011

I had the same problem before...
In QM IB settings you can find the port which you set to 4001. Right there is a checkbox if QM should start TWS on startup - uncheck that. TWS and Gateway should not be running on the same machine so what you can do is to go to account management on IB homepage and request/create another user with the same rights to your account and use the login data of the second user on a other computer in TWS.
Advantages:
- gateway and TWS are not running on the same machine
- you still have complete control from your second computer

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: IB Gateway, MC discontinue receiving realtime data

Postby templ » 21 Apr 2011

siscop wrote:I had the same problem before...
In QM IB settings you can find the port which you set to 4001. Right there is a checkbox if QM should start TWS on startup - uncheck that.

Thanks I missed this option.

siscop wrote:TWS and Gateway should not be running on the same machine

I do this and it works. Of course as you say with a second user. Or with an other account.
Why not?

Thank you


Return to “MultiCharts”