BigPointValue

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
curiousMan
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Has thanked: 1 time

BigPointValue

Postby curiousMan » 22 Jan 2015

This field - Bars.Info.BigPointValue - is defined as
double BigPointValue { get; } - Profit/loss money equivalent in the instrument currency,
when the price moves by one minimum increment, for example, for ES = 50 ;
Well, let's run the simple code:

Code: Select all

private bool m_once = true;
protected override void CalcBar()
{
if( this.Bars.LastBarOnChart && m_once)
{
Output.WriteLine( "{0}\tInfo.BigPointValue\t{1:F2}", Bars.Info.Name, Bars.Info.BigPointValue);
Output.WriteLine( "{0}\tInfo.MinMove {1}", Bars.Info.Name, Bars.Info.MinMove);
Output.WriteLine( "{0}\tInfo.PriceScale {1:F6}", Bars.Info.Name, Bars.Info.PriceScale);
Output.WriteLine( "{0}\tInfo.PointValue {1:F6}", Bars.Info.Name, Bars.Info.PointValue);
Output.WriteLine( "{0}\tBars.Point {1:F6}", Bars.Info.Name, Bars.Point);

m_once = false;
}
}
and look at its result for some instruments (MC.NET - Oanda):

Code: Select all

EUR/USD Info.BigPointValue 100000.00
EUR/USD Info.MinMove 1
EUR/USD Info.PriceScale 10000.000000
EUR/USD Info.PointValue 10.000000
EUR/USD Bars.Point 0.000100

GBP/JPY Info.BigPointValue 1.00
GBP/JPY Info.MinMove 1
GBP/JPY Info.PriceScale 1000.000000
GBP/JPY Info.PointValue 0.001000
GBP/JPY Bars.Point 0.001000

EUR/GBP Info.BigPointValue 1.00
EUR/GBP Info.MinMove 1
EUR/GBP Info.PriceScale 100000.000000
EUR/GBP Info.PointValue 0.000010
EUR/GBP Bars.Point 0.000010
Does anybody know why BigPointValue = 100,000 for EUR/USD? What does "BigPointValue = 1" mean for other instruments? Is it a profit/loss when the price moves to 1 point? And in what currency?

Maybe someone has a method that returns a cost (in the account currency) of 1 point moving? Would be highly appreciate for such method.

Thanks.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: BigPointValue

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 22 Jan 2015

Hello curiousMan,

When trading Forex with Oanda 1 in MultiCharts = 1 at Oanda. So the correct Big Point Value for Forex Oanda instruments is 1.
Please add the instruments using Lookup to have the correct instrument parameters provided by the data feed API or manually change the values.

You can find the Big Point Value description at the following page: Settings Instrument Properties.

Min.Movement * Price Scale is the price of 1 tick in chart price.
Min.Movement * Price Scale * Big Point Value is the price of 1 tick in the secondary currency of the Forex pair.

In order to convert amount of money from one currency into another one according to currency rate on specified date you can use the ConvertCurrency Method.

curiousMan
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Jan 2015
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: BigPointValue

Postby curiousMan » 23 Jan 2015

Thank you Henry!
Min.Movement * Price Scale * Big Point Value is the price of 1 tick in the secondary currency of the Forex pair.
So for example for EUR/GBP we have (see the parameters in my first post)

1 * 100,000 * 1

Seems it's too many for 1 point movement, isn't it?

Another question: I need to know a currency of the current account. It seems I can get it from the collection of accounts:

Code: Select all

this.TradeManager.TradingData.Accounts
But as it turned out the collection is empty (this.TradeManager.TradingData.Accounts.Items.Length == 0)

Is there another way to get account currency?

Thanks.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: BigPointValue

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 26 Jan 2015

So for example for EUR/GBP we have (see the parameters in my first post)
1 * 100,000 * 1
Seems it's too many for 1 point movement, isn't it?
The correct Big Point Value for Forex Oanda instruments is 1. Please add the instruments using Lookup to have the correct instrument parameters provided by the data feed API or manually change the values.
Another question: I need to know a currency of the current account. It seems I can get it from the collection of accounts:

Code: Select all

this.TradeManager.TradingData.Accounts
But as it turned out the collection is empty (this.TradeManager.TradingData.Accounts.Items.Length == 0)
Is there another way to get account currency?
Thanks.
Please make sure the broker profile is connected. You can try using the attached sample code.
Attachments
GetAccountInfo.pln
(1.94 KiB) Downloaded 652 times


Return to “MultiCharts .NET”