Assigning .net indicators to specific CPU cores...?

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
Archer

Assigning .net indicators to specific CPU cores...?

Postby Archer » 01 Dec 2015

Hi!

I am considering buying an AMD 8-core CPU, but from what I have understood there is nothing programmed that utilizes eight cores at the moment. So to make the best of use of resources I am wondering if it is possible to assign .net indicators to specific CPU cores?

Thanks,
Archer

Archer

Re: Assigning .net indicators to specific CPU cores...?

Postby Archer » 07 Dec 2015

Just a follow up.

As you understand I am far from an expert when it comes to multi-core tech and programming, so please bear with me.

To explain a bit more about what I was thinking. If say the operating system and applications never use more than four of the eight cores with the AMD CPU mentioned, I am then wondering if it would be possible to assign a .NET indicator to use one or more of the remaining four cores not being used by the OS and applications?

Thanks,
Archer

Henry MultiСharts

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 08 Dec 2015

Hello Archer,

That is not possible to assign .net indicators to specific CPU cores - this is done automatically.
Multi-core CPU will increase the optimization speed as this calculation is done with certain values, it can be divided into multiple flows using multi-core CPU. Multi-core CPU will also increase chart indicator calculation as the calculations can be split between the CPU cores (all studies from a single chart are calculated in a separate thread).
Multi-core CPU will not increase the backtesting speed as it is a linear calculation procedure and it cannot be divided into parts for calculation.

Archer

Postby Archer » 09 Dec 2015

Hello Archer,

.... Multi-core CPU will also increase chart indicator calculation as the calculations can be split between the CPU cores (all studies from a single chart are calculated in a separate thread)....