Playback : How to Playback tick chart with "Second by Second" playback resolution?  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
chi jeongki
Posts: 39
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Playback : How to Playback tick chart with "Second by Second" playback resolution?

Postby chi jeongki » 08 Aug 2017

In tick chart with a symbol which has tick data in Quote Manager, Playback resolution list shows only two resolution,
one is "As is (xx Tick Bars)" and the other is "Tick by Tick"

If I click Global Mode, then it removes "As is (xx Tick Bars)" and adds
"Second by Second",
"Minute by Minute",
"Day by Day".

Now, changing resolution to any of these three resolution results in the following popup error message.

Message: High-resolution data could not be loaded. Data playback will be performed in As Is mode.

I guess it is not really looking for high-resolution data, since there's no higher resolution than 1 tick data.

How can I playback tick chart with "Second by Second" resolution?

my observation and guess

There are total 5 playback resolutions.

"As is"
"Tick by Tick"
"Second by Second"
"Minute by Minute"
"Day by Day"

Update speed unit is [update / second].
Let update speed be N.

"As is" is to proceed the chart N bars / second, with no intrabar update.
"Tick by Tick" is to proceed the chart N ticks / second, with intrabar update.
"Second by Second" is to proceed the chart N seconds / second with intrabar update.
"Minute by Minute" is to proceed the chart N minutes / second with intrabar update.
"Day by Day" is to proceed the chart N days / second with intrabar update.

According to chart time frame, resolution list box shows different list.

Tick chart: "As is", "Tick by Tick"
Second chart: "As is", "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second"
Minute chart: "As is", "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second", "Minute by Minute"
Day chart: "As is", "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second", "Minute by Minute", "Day by Day"

If you set "Global Mode", any chart regardless of its time frame, resolution list box shows one same list below.
If there are more than one data series in a chart, resolution list box shows one same list below.

"Global Mode": "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second", "Minute by Minute", "Day by Day"

There are special cases, 1-Tick chart, 1-Second chart, 1-Minute chart, 1-Day chart.
Running these with resolution "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second", "Minute by Minute", "Day by Day" is equal to "As is".
Thus, in these cases, resolution list box does not show these related resolutions.
2-Day chart will show "Day by Day" resolution.

After "Global Mode" is set, to show up "Tick by Tick", "Second by Second", "Minute by Minute", "Day by Day"

selecting "Day by Day" resolution on Minute chart,
selecting "Minute by Minute" resolution on Second chart,
selecting "Second by Second" resolution on Tick chart

pops up error message.

Message: High-resolution data could not be loaded. Data playback will be performed in As Is mode.

"High-resolution data could not be loaded" is misleading message.
"Data playback will be performed in As Is mode" is correct message.

As time tick goes on (in given playback resolution and speed) globally (Global Mode),
Charts with higher resolution (for example, 3-Minute chart) than playback resolution(for example, "Day by Day") run in "As is" resolution.
That means, there is no intrabar update for those charts.
It is understandable, since those charts will be very busy to follow the global time ticks which leaps one day in a second.

But there can be other situation.
Selecting Second by Second resolution is to monitor the market movement speed as we feel.
For example, I would like to set Playback resolution to Second by Second, speed to 6 update/second, playback 500-tick chart.
It will show 6 hours of market movement in 1 hour.
But, I can only playback in "As is" resolution, can not see intrabar update of this 500-tick bar.
Even though 500-tick chart is not very busy to follow the global time tick of 6 update / second, but it does not do intrabar update,
since in tick chart, "Second by Second" resolution turns into "As is " resolution.

I guess there is no way to Playback tick chart in Second by Second resolution.
Last edited by chi jeongki on 15 Aug 2017, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8511
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2733 times

Re: Playback : How to Playback tick chart with "Second by Second" plyaback resolution?  [SOLVED]

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 15 Aug 2017

Hello chi jeongki,

There is no way to Playback Tick chart in Second by Second resolution.

chi jeongki
Posts: 39
Joined: 29 Nov 2007
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Playback : How to Playback tick chart with "Second by Second" plyaback resolution?

Postby chi jeongki » 15 Aug 2017

Thank you for fast confirmation.
Well, then I have to make a feature request to enable it.


Return to “MultiCharts .NET”