Page 1 of 1

Extending PowerLanguage with a DLL

Posted: 26 Feb 2010
by geizer
Originally published by Roger Rines on PowerBASIC users forum.
Link: http://powerbasic.com/support/pbforums/ ... adestation

Posted: 26 Feb 2010
by TJ
thanks !
good find.

Posted: 26 Feb 2010
by brodnicki steven
I've used PowerBasic for years, it's VERY fast (they claim as fast as "C") and works great with MC or TS.

Posted: 27 Feb 2010
by geizer
When (very long time ago) I was learning programming I wrote a code in x86 Assembler and TurboBASIC by Borland ... a great compiler at that time... and, what a surprise! it's still alive and now called PowerBASIC - still being developed by it's original creator.

Janus inspired me to look at various flavours of Basic's by posting his DLL example recently.
Thanks a lot


--
Pavel

Posted: 27 Feb 2010
by janus
Janus inspired me to look at various flavours of Basic's by posting his DLL example recently.
Thanks a lot
Pavel
You are welcome - glad to be of help. It's worth nothing I've gone well beyond just using DLL's. I now have a small DLL stub to act as a gateway to other applications to perform parallel operations, order overrides, and windows gui charts of my own. It's not so much which language one should use - they all have the good and bad points. I leave that up to the individual as there are other factors at play, such as past experiences and the task to be performed. The main point is once you use and understand the DLL approach, there's a lot more you can do.

Posted: 12 Jul 2010
by LMC
I tried to compile the ELA codes into PowerLanguage but was not successful because PL editor did not recognize '&'s in the following lines of code,
.......
ElementValue = ArrayElementValue( &MyTestArray[Num], 0, elStartAddr, elArraySize);
PRINT("ArrayElementValue=", &MyTestArray[Num],
............

could anyone help ?

Posted: 13 Jul 2010
by TJ
I tried to compile the ELA codes into PowerLanguage but was not successful because PL editor did not recognize '&'s in the following lines of code,
.......
ElementValue = ArrayElementValue( &MyTestArray[Num], 0, elStartAddr, elArraySize);
PRINT("ArrayElementValue=", &MyTestArray[Num],
............

could anyone help ?

change &MyTestArray to _MyTestArray.

Posted: 13 Jul 2010
by LMC
Thanks TJ,
I did as told but was not successful... see my screen shot.

Posted: 13 Jul 2010
by TJ
did you change all instances of the array, including the declaration?

Re: Extending PowerLanguage with a DLL

Posted: 06 Aug 2010
by Nick
Great find! Thanks.