Precise Marker and Countdown Teaser. Coming Soon in MC6

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Precise Marker and Countdown Teaser. Coming Soon in MC6

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 17 Jul 2009

How many of us find these features useful?
Image[/img]
Attachments
Countdown.png
(36.7 KiB) Downloaded 1015 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Postby TJ » 17 Jul 2009

precise marker -- great idea

countdown -- I already have a study to do that, but would welcome having it built-in

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 17 Jul 2009

Thanks. We've made it, because many traders want to have these features by default.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 17 Jul 2009

Having it built-in is a good idea, some may wish to turn it off though, so I'd like to see that option too.

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 17 Jul 2009

Yes you can turn it off of course.

brodnicki steven
Posts: 407
Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Been thanked: 3 times

Postby brodnicki steven » 17 Jul 2009

Perfect !

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

MyCountGauge

Postby 2haerim » 17 Jul 2009

Does it also work for second, minute, point, contract, change and so on?

I use one looks like level gauge for any resolution shown as attached.

Currently, I use Countup but I could make it option to choose up or down.
Attachments
MyCountGauge.png
(118.16 KiB) Downloaded 1033 times

SUPER
Posts: 646
Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Postby SUPER » 17 Jul 2009

Glad to have it

User avatar
Andrew Kirillov
Posts: 1589
Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: MyCountGauge

Postby Andrew Kirillov » 18 Jul 2009

Does it also work for second, minute, point, contract, change and so on?
It can't work for point and change bars by definition since you never know when they complete.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2180
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 429 times

Postby bowlesj3 » 18 Jul 2009

I am curious. How exactly do you operate this indicator/tool and what exactly does it tell you. I may have programmed something similar already?

Thanks,
John.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 18 Jul 2009

bowlesj3,
I am curious. How exactly do you operate this indicator/tool and what exactly does it tell you. I may have programmed something similar already?
I am not sure you are talking to me, but assuming so, I would shortly describe what my indicator does for each resolution.

Tick => shows how many ticks to go along with the level gauge
Second => shows how many seconds to go along with the level gauge
Minute => shows how many seconds/minutes to go along with the level gauge
Volume => shows how many volume to go along with the level gauge
Point => shows how many points to go along with the level gauge

and so on.

See the attached screen shot for some of them in action.

bowlesj3
Posts: 2180
Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Has thanked: 227 times
Been thanked: 429 times

Postby bowlesj3 » 18 Jul 2009

HI 2haerim,

When you say, "to go" how do you set the "to go" part. Do you just enter 5 bars (or whatever) some where to be counted down? What happens once th e count down is done?

Thanks,
John.
Last edited by bowlesj3 on 20 Jul 2009, edited 1 time in total.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 18 Jul 2009

See the below. If you want it to be count-up indicator, you would have to be manipulating a little math. I would make it option too later.

Code: Select all

switch (BarType_Ex)
begin
case 1: // Ticks
ToFill = BarInterval;
ToGo = Ticks; // Set Built Volume On to Trade Volume
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l)*GaugeRate;
case 2: // Minutes
ToFill = BarInterval * 60;
ToGo = ToFill - TimeToSeconds(mod(time_s,10000)) + TimeToSeconds(mod(currenttime_s,10000)); // would be good to display in seconds, minnutes/seconds, minutes.fraction, respectively based on the user option
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l)* GaugeRate;

... // Hour, Day, Week, Month, Quarter, Year


case 8: // Volume
ToFill = BarInterval;
ToGo = Ticks; // Set Build Volume On to Trade Volume
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l)* GaugeRate;
case 9: // Seconds
ToFill = BarInterval;
ToGo = ToFill - TimeToSeconds(mod(time_s,10000)) + TimeToSeconds(mod(currenttime_s,10000));
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l)* GaugeRate;
case 11: // Points
ToFill = BarInterval;
ToGo = (h-l) * PriceScale / MinMove;
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l)*GaugeRate;
case 12: // Change
Var: PrevLast(0), ChangeCount(0), PrevBN(0);
if PrevBN <> BarNumber then begin
ChangeCount = 0;
end
else if c <> PrevLast then begin
ChangeCount += 1;
end;
PrevBN = BarNumber;
PrevLast = c;
ToFill = BarInterval;
ToGo = ChangeCount;
GaugeRate = ToGo / ToFill;
GaugeLevel = (h-l) * GaugeRate;
end; // switch

PlotPaintBar(Low+GaugeLevel,Low,Low,Low+GaugeLevel,"",iff(O>C,DnColor,iff(O<C,UpColor,EqColor)));


text_setlocation_s(CounterID, Date, Time_s, Low+GaugeLevel);

text_SetString(CounterID," "+NumToStr(ToGo,0));
Last edited by 2haerim on 19 Jul 2009, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RobotMan
Posts: 375
Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Location: Los Altos, California, USA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Postby RobotMan » 18 Jul 2009

This is what I currently use...

Code: Select all

// Bob Perry 9/07, 11/08
// This only works on:
// "Tick" charts where "Build Volume On:" is set to "Tick Count"
// "Contract" or "Volume Bars" where "Build Volume On:" is set to "Volume"

inputs: marker ( "<" ),space ( " ");
var: Count(0), text_string ( "" ), { string }
ref(0); { ref # of text object }

{ initialize text object }
if currentbar = 1 then
ref = text_new_s(date,time_s,close, " " );

value1 = Ticks;
Count = value1[1] - value1[0]; //miscount on first bar of session
//try "count=barinterval-ticks"

if lastbaronchart then begin
{ string for text object }
text_string = space + marker + space + numtostr(Count,0);
{ move text to lastbaronchart }
text_setlocation_s(ref,date,time_s+1,close);
text_setstring(ref,text_string);
text_setstyle( ref, 0, 2 );
text_setcolor(ref, tool_yellow );
end;
The caveats are, of course, setting "Build Volume On", as noted in the code.
(I never did finish the first bar of session error, cuz it wasn't that important. And, I'm lazy.)

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 19 Jul 2009

It can't work for point and change bars by definition since you never know when they complete.
I agree we never know when a volume, point or change chart will get completed, but we do know how many volume, points or changes to go left.

So, why not display it in terms of volume, point or change to go rather than in terms of ticks to go? That is what my indicator does as you can see.

For example, for a 10 point chart, the countdown teaser would display 3P when the range of the current bar is 7P.


Return to “MultiCharts”