Ribbons Plotter

Studies that have been contributed to the community by other users. If you’ve got something useful to share, that’s great!
smashthepound
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

Ribbons Plotter

Postby smashthepound » 30 Mar 2010

I found this indicator on the web:

http://www.hightick.com/TS/In ... index.html

It looks quite interesting so I did download and compiled it with no errors.

But when I add this indicator I get a "floating point invalid operation" error message.

Do you have any idea on this? Thanks.
Attachments
Indicator RibbonsPlotter.zip
(81.86 KiB) Downloaded 439 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Postby TJ » 30 Mar 2010

what chart did you use this on?
what symbol? what resolution?

smashthepound
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby smashthepound » 31 Mar 2010

$SPX from eSignal feed, 15 min bar chart.

Did you try it? Thanks and regards.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Postby TJ » 31 Mar 2010

[edit]
I plotted ES with no problem,
but with SPX, I get an error on "Floating-point invalid operation".

It must have to do with SPX not having volume.
Attachments
Ribbons Plotter.png
(116.46 KiB) Downloaded 1472 times

smashthepound
Posts: 82
Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Been thanked: 1 time

Postby smashthepound » 31 Mar 2010

Thanks - I tried it also with currencies and had no luck either. So it must be definetely the volume. I will have a look at the code. Thanks.

hendrix
Posts: 54
Joined: 27 Dec 2013
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Ribbons Plotter

Postby hendrix » 13 Oct 2014

Hi all

I test the same indicator than smashthepound.

does anybody have an idea to explain why I can't to compile this indicator?

in the attachement, I have to remove several "underscore character" ? specially before :

_BarsDisplayed
_DisplayRangeAll

Thanks to your help
Attachments
2014-10-13_21h21_07.png
(65.95 KiB) Downloaded 1321 times

User avatar
bensat
Posts: 331
Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Ribbons Plotter

Postby bensat » 16 Oct 2014

"_BarsDisplayed" is grayed out and "_DisplayRangeAll" isn't the issue, because it got already compiled.

This is a TS-code. So first compile "_BarsDisplayed" first :

Code: Select all

vars:
float LeftDateTime(0),
bool StartCount(false),
int BarsDisplayed(0);


once begin
LeftDateTime = GetAppInfo(aiLeftDispDateTime);
end;

{ stop comparing current bars date and time to LeftDateTime once left margin bar is reached }
once (ELDateToDateTime(Date) + ELTimeToDateTime(Time) >= LeftDateTime) begin
StartCount = true;
end;

if StartCount then BarsDisplayed = BarsDisplayed + 1;

_BarsDisplayed = BarsDisplayed;
Further it makes no sense to declare a variable named "BarsDisplayed" equals to the value of the function "_BarsDisplayed" which is already feeding the function "_BarsDisplayed". Weird.


Return to “User Contributed Studies and Indicator Library”