2x ATR trailing stop

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
atr

2x ATR trailing stop

Postby atr » 02 Jul 2011

Hi, I have just downloaded and been experimenting with Multicharts. I am trying to transfer one of my MT4 strategies into a MC signal.

However I'm struggling to bring in a basic ATR trailing stop. I have got ATR*2 and converted it to a number representing $10 per pip and then set that using SetDollarTrailing.

For each successive bar I am trying to move the stop to represent the new ATR*2 but it doesn't seem to be moving it properly and it often moves a lot higher than it should be.

An abbreviated version of the code is:

Code: Select all

longStop = (atr*2)/.0001;

if marketposition = 1 then
begin
setdollartrailing(longStop);
end;
Help would be very much appreciated!

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: 2x ATR trailing stop

Postby TJ » 03 Jul 2011

Hi, I have just downloaded and been experimenting with Multicharts. I am trying to transfer one of my MT4 strategies into a MC signal.

However I'm struggling to bring in a basic ATR trailing stop. I have got ATR*2 and converted it to a number representing $10 per pip and then set that using SetDollarTrailing.

For each successive bar I am trying to move the stop to represent the new ATR*2 but it doesn't seem to be moving it properly and it often moves a lot higher than it should be.

An abbreviated version of the code is:

Code: Select all

longStop = (atr*2)/.0001;

if marketposition = 1 then
begin
setdollartrailing(longStop);
end;
Help would be very much appreciated!

Are you using MultiCharts Discretionary Trader or the regular version?

This forum is for the MultiCharts Discretionary Trader only.

atr

Re: 2x ATR trailing stop

Postby atr » 03 Jul 2011

Sorry yes I am using the regular version. My apologies.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: 2x ATR trailing stop

Postby TJ » 03 Jul 2011

Sorry yes I am using the regular version. My apologies.
No problem.

Please log in to the forum and re-post the question at the main forum.


Return to “MultiCharts”