Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
scaban84
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Dec 2011

Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby scaban84 » 07 May 2012

I started putting alerts in my automated signals that will give me a Alerts on stop and limit prices to help me trade manually but they don't seem to appear despite enabling them in the strategy properties.
For example this:
Sell("ExTrail-S") next bar at LStop stop;
Alert("SPY trailing stop at " + NumToStr(LStop,2));

will not produce an alert.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8507
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2732 times

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 07 May 2012

Hello Scaban84,

What alert condition check and alert type have you selected? Attach a screenshot of the alerts tab.
If the alert is not put under condition it will appear on each strategy calculation.

scaban84
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Dec 2011

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby scaban84 » 07 May 2012

Enable Alerts is checked
Alert conditions check is on bar close.
Audio Alert is checked with a sound .wav
Play once

Visual alert is checked.
Notify window is set to Always open.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8507
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2732 times

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 08 May 2012

There should be no issues with the alerts per your description.

Please send us the following information for futher investigation:
-the workspace you are using
-the study you are using (export file in Power Language editor->File->Export->export with dependent functions)
-what is the exact version and build number of MultiCharts you are running (Help->About MultiCharts).

You can also come to our live chat Monday-Friday 6:30 am - 4 pm EST to demonstrate this behavior remotely. We will do our best to help you.

scaban84
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Dec 2011

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby scaban84 » 08 May 2012

How do I send this.
I am not using a study I am using a Signal.
I am using MultiCharts64 Version 8.0 Beta 2 Build 5203

I am simply trying to put an Alert after an order entry to print the prices.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8507
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2732 times

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 09 May 2012

You can attach a file to your forum post or send it to my email support@multicharts.com

If you want to send an alert after the order is filled-use market position condition check to do that (for example):

Code: Select all

If marketposition<>0 then alert;

scaban84
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Dec 2011

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby scaban84 » 09 May 2012

What if I am not in a position but have open orders? Can I perform a check of an open stop or limit order?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8507
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1213 times
Been thanked: 2732 times

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 10 May 2012

scaban84 wrote:Can I perform a check of an open stop or limit order?

Unfortunately that is not possible to see these orders from the script.

User avatar
JoshM
Posts: 2089
Joined: 20 May 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 1525 times
Been thanked: 1485 times
Contact:

Re: Alerts not working in Signal x64 8 Beta 2

Postby JoshM » 04 Jun 2012

Henry Multicharts wrote:
scaban84 wrote:Can I perform a check of an open stop or limit order?

Unfortunately that is not possible to see these orders from the script.

Vote for this feature request if you'd like to see such a feature implemented:



Return to “MultiCharts”