Signal changed to 'read only' can't open

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
DibsTrader
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2012
Has thanked: 2 times

Signal changed to 'read only' can't open

Postby DibsTrader » 13 May 2012

Hi I recently edited the code on one of my signals, now when trying to open the code it says 'read only' and I am unable to add it to charts or open it to edit. Does anyone know what could have caused this and how I can fix?
Very grateful for any help, thanks!

evdl
Posts: 398
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Signal changed to 'read only' can't open

Postby evdl » 13 May 2012

Experienced the same thing. Fortunatly it was a copy of another strategy which I didn't edit yet. So I could delete it without any loss of work.

From that point on, I always keep a backup of signals and indicators in a text file.

Sorry I can not help you, but I would like to know this also, in case this happens again.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 8435
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2703 times

Re: Signal changed to 'read only' can't open

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 14 May 2012

DibsTrader, Evdl, what version and build number of MultiCharts are you running (Help tab->About MultiCharts)?
What are the exact steps causing this behavior?

evdl
Posts: 398
Joined: 19 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Signal changed to 'read only' can't open

Postby evdl » 14 May 2012

Hi Henry,

I use the latest MC8.0 beta3. What happend was that I edited the signal. Closed it. And at another time (next day)tried to open it, the signal was protected. Happend once.

Probably not much to go on. Was just curious how to get a protected strategy of my own to unprotect. But I don't want to hijack this topic from Dibstrader, maybe he has more info.


Return to “MultiCharts”