Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
buylosellhi
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2012

Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby buylosellhi » 09 Jul 2012

Hi,
Is it possible to draw text or arrows on a chart with bar offset instead of using bar time ? I'm asking this because I use price range based charts and a lot of times multiple bars have same timestamp and arrow/text is drawn at the first bar that has the timestamp and not the desired bar (if you used a 'bars ago' type logic). Hope I'm making sense with what i'm asking... NT achieves with 'overloaded' functions for drawing.
thanks in advance for your help

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1899 times

Re: Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby TJ » 09 Jul 2012

buylosellhi wrote:Hi,
Is it possible to draw text or arrows on a chart with bar offset instead of using bar time ? I'm asking this because I use price range based charts and a lot of times multiple bars have same timestamp and arrow/text is drawn at the first bar that has the timestamp and not the desired bar (if you used a 'bars ago' type logic). Hope I'm making sense with what i'm asking... NT achieves with 'overloaded' functions for drawing.
thanks in advance for your help

are you using these keywords?

ARW_NEW_s
TEXT_NEW_s

buylosellhi
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2012

Re: Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby buylosellhi » 09 Jul 2012

yes. those functions require bar time in seconds.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1899 times

Re: Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby TJ » 09 Jul 2012

buylosellhi wrote:Hi,
Is it possible to draw text or arrows on a chart with bar offset instead of using bar time ? I'm asking this because I use price range based charts and a lot of times multiple bars have same timestamp and arrow/text is drawn at the first bar that has the timestamp and not the desired bar (if you used a 'bars ago' type logic). Hope I'm making sense with what i'm asking... NT achieves with 'overloaded' functions for drawing.
thanks in advance for your help


if you use a 'bars ago' type logic,
you can use TIME_s[1] to reference previous bars.
But if multiple bars have the same time stamp, the first one will be used.

buylosellhi
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Jun 2012

Re: Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby buylosellhi » 09 Jul 2012

TJ, thanks for your reply. yes, thats exactly what i'm trying to avoid. lets say there are 10 bars with the same timestamp and I want to draw the arrow above a bar 4 bars ago, then this would still draw it 10 bars ago, above the first bar that matches the timestamp.

is there a workaround this in MC ?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1899 times

Re: Drawing arrows/text using bar offset

Postby TJ » 09 Jul 2012

buylosellhi wrote:TJ, thanks for your reply. yes, thats exactly what i'm trying to avoid. lets say there are 10 bars with the same timestamp and I want to draw the arrow above a bar 4 bars ago, then this would still draw it 10 bars ago, above the first bar that matches the timestamp.

is there a workaround this in MC ?

Not that I aware of...


Return to “MultiCharts”