specify from/to date for format instrument in .net

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
riverTrader
Posts: 64
Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 50 times

specify from/to date for format instrument in .net

Postby riverTrader » 17 Sep 2012

Is it possible to use an indicator/fn to reset the default from/to date to specific non-default dates?

on a related note; is it really true that you cannot save a workspace/chart with a from/to date without it reverting back to the default setting the next time you open it?

I looked on mc forum and the last thread I could find was from 2010; I can't believe this topic is not active, it is a major annoyance.

riverTrader
Posts: 64
Joined: 15 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: specify from/to date for format instrument in .net

Postby riverTrader » 17 Sep 2012

I looked at a fn i wrote in TS to accomplish this,

Code: Select all

if Gv_TsLastDate > 0 AND Gv_TsLastDate <> TsLastDate then begin
TsLastDate = Gv_TsLastDate;
sLastDate = (wf.ELDateToString9(Gv_TsLastDate));
value1 = RunCommand(".LastDate " + sLastDate);
end;
It seems it relies on RunCommand.

so third question: does mc.net have an equivalent to Ts RunCommand?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: specify from/to date for format instrument in .net

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 18 Sep 2012

Is it possible to use an indicator/fn to reset the default from/to date to specific non-default dates?
Hello RiverTrader,
There is no such functionality at the moment.
on a related note; is it really true that you cannot save a workspace/chart with a from/to date without it reverting back to the default setting the next time you open it?
That is correct. That is done to avoid data holes when you open your workspace.
I looked at a fn i wrote in TS to accomplish this,
It seems it relies on RunCommand.
so third question: does mc.net have an equivalent to Ts RunCommand?
RunCommand starts a Macro in TS. There is no Macro in MultiCharts at the moment.


Return to “MultiCharts .NET”