incorrect volume data in signal  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
lawrence124
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 1 time

incorrect volume data in signal

Postby lawrence124 » 17 Oct 2012

hi, i used the following to debug my signal:

Print(File("C:\Korlog.txt"),CurrentDate,CurrentTime,RSI(c,lengthP),c,Volume);

I read the log file, closing price, and RSI are correct bar by bar (according to the chart), but volume data is never correct and I tried to add the Volume Avg indicator and that one is correct too. (the volume bar value is 1695, while the log file say 864, and i dont see correct volume info in all the bars)

much appreciated!

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7151
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 988 times
Been thanked: 2041 times

Re: incorrect volume data in signal

Postby TJ » 17 Oct 2012

lawrence124 wrote:hi, i used the following to debug my signal:

Print(File("C:\Korlog.txt"),CurrentDate,CurrentTime,RSI(c,lengthP),c,Volume);

I read the log file, closing price, and RSI are correct bar by bar (according to the chart), but volume data is never correct and I tried to add the Volume Avg indicator and that one is correct too. (the volume bar value is 1695, while the log file say 864, and i dont see correct volume info in all the bars)

much appreciated!


Look up the definitions of:

Volume
Ticks


https://www.multicharts.com/trading-soft ... /Main_Page
These users thanked the author TJ for the post:
Andrew MultiCharts

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7151
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 988 times
Been thanked: 2041 times

Re: incorrect volume data in signal

Postby TJ » 17 Oct 2012

ps. Read the code in the Volume Avg indicator, see which keyword it uses.
These users thanked the author TJ for the post:
Andrew MultiCharts

lawrence124
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: incorrect volume data in signal  [SOLVED]

Postby lawrence124 » 17 Oct 2012

yes, i fixed it based on the bartype >=2 code from the indicator, though, i dont have much idea why tick is volume for intraday, it's a bit confusing for newbies~ thanks for the pointers~


Return to “MultiCharts”