How to change bar settings to Volume  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
steve3656
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Sep 2012
Has thanked: 1 time

How to change bar settings to Volume

Postby steve3656 » 29 Oct 2012

HI TJ or anyone else
Is it possible to change the bar chart settings from a time based bar to a volume based bar, for example in NT Trader which I am also running the instrument options are
tick, volume, range, second, minute, day, week, month

In Multicharts the available instrument options are
tick, contract, point, change, second, minute, hour, day, week, month

So in NT Trader if I wanted to change the bar settings to volume, I would just select volume then type in a value, for example 1000, so each bar would change color after 1000 shares or volume has traded.

In multicharts there is no option for volume, unless one of the current options is the same as volume

In TS for example the available symbol options are

Also s there an option for Range, that is to change the bar settings to range
tick, volume, minute, day

I would appreciate if you could let me know if this option is available in multicharts

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6550
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 965 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: How to change bar settings to Volume

Postby TJ » 29 Oct 2012

steve3656 wrote:HI TJ or anyone else
Is it possible to change the bar chart settings from a time based bar to a volume based bar, for example in NT Trader which I am also running the instrument options are
tick, volume, range, second, minute, day, week, month

In Multicharts the available instrument options are
tick, contract, point, change, second, minute, hour, day, week, month

So in NT Trader if I wanted to change the bar settings to volume, I would just select volume then type in a value, for example 1000, so each bar would change color after 1000 shares or volume has traded.

In multicharts there is no option for volume, unless one of the current options is the same as volume

In TS for example the available symbol options are
tick, volume, minute, day

I would appreciate if you could let me know if this option is available in multicharts


Volume = Contract.

steve3656
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Sep 2012
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How to change bar settings to Volume

Postby steve3656 » 29 Oct 2012

Hi TJ
WOW you are fast, that was excellent customer support, which option represents range

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6550
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 965 times
Been thanked: 1892 times

Re: How to change bar settings to Volume

Postby TJ » 29 Oct 2012

steve3656 wrote:Hi TJ
WOW you are fast, that was excellent customer support, which option represents range


Point = Range


Please note that in charting jargon, 1 point means 1 minimum movement (ie 1 tick).

This is different from traders' jargon, where 1 point equals to 1 integer movement.
eg. for ES, it equals to 4 ticks.

steve3656
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Sep 2012
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: How to change bar settings to Volume  [SOLVED]

Postby steve3656 » 29 Oct 2012

Yes I realize that a point is equivalent to the minimum movement of the instrument, I just wanted to verify which one it was in MC when using the term range
thanks and you are the best, so far MC has not disappointed me, it seems to offer the best of both NT trader and TS

Thanks very much, I will get back to you if I have any additional questions


Return to “MultiCharts”