Can't obtain symbol list from IB

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
madjae
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Nov 2012

Can't obtain symbol list from IB

Postby madjae » 15 Nov 2012

Hi there,

I'm having trouble obtaining a symbol list from IB within the "Insert Symbols Into Portfolio" dialogue.

The detail area just continues to say Connecting... and the logs within Quotemanager just show a "Connecting to symbollist data for <symbol> STK" message every 6 seconds or so.

My broker connection works fine, and I can enter directly within the charts IB:<symbol> to obtain chart data, so the interactions with IB seem to be working apart from this...

Any ideas?

Regards
Scott

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: Can't obtain symbol list from IB

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 16 Nov 2012

Hello madjae,

1. Please make sure everything is set up in QuoteManager as it described in this instruction.
2. What do you type before you click Lookup, when you add symbol?

madjae
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Nov 2012

Re: Can't obtain symbol list from IB

Postby madjae » 16 Nov 2012

Hi there Andrew

Yes followed those instructions to the letter. No improvement thus far.

Cheers
Scott

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: Can't obtain symbol list from IB

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 17 Nov 2012

What do you type before you click Lookup, when you add symbol?
Please add the symbol to IB TWS, make a right-click -> Contract Info -> Description -> make a screenshot of the description and upload it here.


Return to “MultiCharts”