Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts .NET and user contributed studies.
GTrader
Posts: 83
Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby GTrader » 13 Dec 2012

I've followed all the forum posts to try to get it to work but I can't seem to get it to work. I've made an argument in another post of why the new express versions are superior to the older versions so it would be great if you can help me out with this.

I'm configured as follows:

- Win7 64
- MS.Net 64
- Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 14 Dec 2012

Hello GTrader,

We have no problems with debugging using Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012 in our environment.
Please describe your actions step by step and specify what exactly does not work so that we can help you. It would be helpful if you could attach screenshots or video demonstrating the setup procedure and the problem itself (for ex. you can use Screencast to capture it).

GTrader
Posts: 83
Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby GTrader » 14 Dec 2012

Thanks for getting back to me Henry. I worked on it late last night and was able to get it working on my laptop but not my desktop. I am using the exact same process on each.

When I set the breakpoints it tells me that it will not stop because "symbols have not been loaded for this document".

I googled it and tried a bunch of different things but haven't been able to fix it.

Any ideas?

Zoli
Posts: 90
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby Zoli » 18 Dec 2012

Hi GTrader,

I have had the same issue using VS2010 with Windows 8. My problem got solved after taking the following steps:
- I installed the "official" .NET Framework 3.5 from control panel -> programs and features -> Turn Windows features on or off
- let windows make some updates after installing .NET framework (including some VS updates)
- compiled the project in PL.NET Editor
- lauched VS2010 from PL.NET Editor

Hope this helps.

GTrader
Posts: 83
Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby GTrader » 18 Dec 2012

Thanks zoli ill give it a shot.

Zoli
Posts: 90
Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby Zoli » 19 Dec 2012

Hi GTrader,

Very welcome, I see the topic is solved. I am very curious for future reference if the last 2 steps were the ones to fix it or did you find another way?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 19 Dec 2012

When I set the breakpoints it tells me that it will not stop because "symbols have not been loaded for this document".
Hello GTrader,
Please try the following:
1) Detach Visual Studio from MultiCharts.Net.exe
2) Recompile the study you are debugging in PLEdtior
3) Attach Visual Studio to MultiCharts.Net.exe
4) Set the breakpoints

If that did not help then recompile the study in PLEdtior while VS is attached to MC.

GTrader
Posts: 83
Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012

Postby GTrader » 19 Dec 2012

Thanks Guys. I am traveling this week, but will let you know if either work when I get back home next week.

Thanks again.

GTrader
Posts: 83
Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Debugging with Visual Studio Express for Desktops 2012  [SOLVED]

Postby GTrader » 27 Dec 2012

Just got home and tried it and it worked. I have 2 other suggestions that helped for me.

a) don't set the breakpoints until after you attach to the MCCharts.exe process
b) just changing the status of the indicator did not work the first time. I had to close the workspace and reopen it to hit the breakpoint.

Thanks again for all your help guys.


Return to “MultiCharts .NET”