MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
alex522
Posts: 42
Joined: 31 May 2010
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue

Postby alex522 » 11 Jan 2013

I have been using MC32bit with the IB gateway for quite a long time because of the "gateway"s relatively low overhead and no need to change the auto logout time every 12 hours.

But after switching to 64bit MC, I noted the communication between MC and IB gateway is kind of tricky: I have upgrade both the MC and Java to 64bit. And the real time data streaming and auto-trading seems all work perfectly. But when I want to add a symbol and use the "Lookup" function for the required symbol. The TWS login will be called instead. Then if press cancel, I will not be able to get the symbol.

But if I use the TWS instead of IB gateway, everything work perfectly.

Any of you know what I may have done wrong?

Thank you for your suggestion in advance.

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 11 Jan 2013

Hello alex522,

Most likely the port number is set up for IB TWS, but not for Gateway. Please read this article in order to learn more and find out how you can set it up.

alex522
Posts: 42
Joined: 31 May 2010
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue

Postby alex522 » 14 Jan 2013

The ports number are both set to 7496. Actually, when just doing the auto-trade and receiving streaming data, the IB gateway work correctly. Just when I want to query the symbol then the TWS will pop-up.

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 557 times

Re: MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue  [SOLVED]

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 14 Jan 2013

QuoteManager -> Tools -> Data Sources -> Interactive Brokers -> Settings -> Reset -> Uncheck "Launch IB TWS at start" -> make sure the port number is correct -> OK.

Close MultiCharts and QuoteManager, make sure all processes are shut down and try to add a symbol again.
These users thanked the author Andrew MultiCharts for the post:
alex522

alex522
Posts: 42
Joined: 31 May 2010
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC64bit connect to IB gateway issue

Postby alex522 » 17 Jan 2013

Yes!! That's it. I've made a stupid mistake. Thanks a lot!


Return to “MultiCharts”