BUG WITH K200 Options!

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Guest

BUG WITH K200 Options!

Postby Guest » 09 Nov 2006

This is the same problem as JGB Options that i reported the last time.
With IB as data feed.

1. Open a chart with any K200 option.
2. Save the workspace
3. Open the workspace
you get a blank chart,
"History symbol not found, RealTime symbol not found"

Please rectify.

You can try the Nov 177.5 Call.

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 09 Nov 2006

Dear Guest,

could you please add more detail concerning this issue?

I gave it a try - created an hourly chart for the K200190K6.KS option, saved the workspace, closed and reopened it just fine using .1162 beta version.

Guest

Postby Guest » 09 Nov 2006

Try any of the options whose strike ends with 0.5
i.e NOV06 177.5 PUT or NOV06 182.5 CALL.

I am using MC version 1.90.438.75

thanks

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 09 Nov 2006

The problem with options whose strike price ends in .5 has been encountered before and in the newer versions (you're using a pretty old one) should be fixed.

You can find the newest beta (quite stable and tested for a long time) at

http://tssupport.com/products/multichar ... 4.1126.exe

or wait for the upcoming public version release.

Guest

Postby Guest » 09 Nov 2006

The problem with options whose strike price ends in .5 has been encountered before and in the newer versions (you're using a pretty old one) should be fixed.

You can find the newest beta (quite stable and tested for a long time) at

tssupport.com/products/multicharts/MultiCharts.644.1126.exe

or wait for the upcoming public version release.


So you have tried and confirmed that the same problem is fixed for Kospi Options ?


I am a full time trader and cannot afford to use an unstable version.
How much longer before the public version release ?
Is there a quick fix or patch for the version i am using ?
Given that the new beta still seems buggy.
Don't think you would be able to give me any assurances that the new beta is good enough.

But at least please confirm that the same bug does not occur for kospi options.

Thanks

Guest

Postby Guest » 12 Nov 2006

Kospi Options are the most traded contracts in the world.
I would be interested to trade it.

Can Multicharts confirmed that this bug is resolved ?

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 14 Nov 2006

Here's what we saw when experimenting on this :
K200177B7.KS with Strike = 177.5 FEB07
doesn't return the last value at all.
K200185M7.KS with Strike = 185 - we can't access history data for it & other symbols with our subscription, could you please chart K200185M7.KS in TWS and send a screenshot ?

Guest

Postby Guest » 14 Nov 2006

you are trying to plot the 2007 contracts.

Nov 2006 have expired, the current active contracts are the DEC 2006.

Try to plot any of these symbols
DEC06 177.5 Call 201AC177
or
DEC06 182.5 Call 201AC182
or
DEC06 182.5 Call 301AC183

I cannot upload an image because the forum complain "Sorry, you have reached your maximum Upload Quota Limit of 5 MB" even though the file is only 51KB.

Guest

Postby Guest » 14 Nov 2006

Just wanna point out for Kospi 200 some options within the same series has some funny symbols.

E.g highlighed in bold
DEC 06 185 Call Option 201AC185
DEC 06 187.5 Call Option 201AC187
DEC 06 190 Call Option K2001190L6.KS
DEC 06 192.5 Call option K2001192L6.KS

Not sure if they will cause additional problems.

Guest

Postby Guest » 15 Nov 2006

So Alex, did you guys try the December contracts i suggested.

Is the problem solved in the new beta ?

thanks

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 15 Nov 2006

Turns out we have no access to this symbol in our subscription - could you please send us your QuoteManager databases and workspaces so we could at reproduce the problem?

The databases including QuoteManager settings are stored in
\Program Files\Common Files\TS Support\Databases\
There are 3 files in .GDB format - we'll need the FBPORTFOLIO.GDB file, please zip it and email to akramer@tssupport.com along with a .wsp file using those symbols.

Guest

Postby Guest » 15 Nov 2006

Turns out we have no access to this symbol in our subscription - could you please send us your QuoteManager databases and workspaces so we could at reproduce the problem?

The databases including QuoteManager settings are stored in
\Program Files\Common Files\TS Support\Databases\
There are 3 files in .GDB format - we'll need the FBPORTFOLIO.GDB file, please zip it and email to akramer@tssupport.com along with a .wsp file using those symbols.


Please find in your mail box, the requested files.
I am testing the following symbols.

DEC06 185.0 CALL Option 201AC185 (01)
DEC06 187.5 CALL Option 201AC187 (01)
DEC06 175.0 PUT Option 301AC175 (01)
DEC06 177.5 PUT Option 301AC177 (01)
DEC06 192.5 CALL Option K200192L6.KS (01)
DEC06 192.5 PUT Option K200192X6.KS (01)

Let me know if you did not received them.

thanks

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 16 Nov 2006

Thanks, we received these files and will analyze the problem.

Guest

Postby Guest » 27 Nov 2006

Is this problem resolved ? What is the status ?

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 27 Nov 2006

Need to observe the problem directly in HelpDsk connection.

Guest

Postby Guest » 08 Dec 2006

Does Multicharts still have this problem with Kospi Options ?

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 12 Dec 2006

In the latest beta (644.1126) the problem with Kospi options is fixed. I attached the screenshot confirming this. We still don't have a subscription for this symbol but I managed to open the workspaces you sent us.

What version of MultiCharts are you using? Is it 1.90.644.1126 Beta?
Attachments
KOSPI options.PNG
KOSPI options.PNG (50.9 KiB) Viewed 1327 times

Guest

Postby Guest » 12 Dec 2006

In the latest beta (644.1126) the problem with Kospi options is fixed. I attached the screenshot confirming this. We still don't have a subscription for this symbol but I managed to open the workspaces you sent us.

What version of MultiCharts are you using? Is it 1.90.644.1126 Beta?


I am using the stable version that was release sometime back before this current set of beta releases.
I don't not intend to upgrade until this beta testing is over. It may affect my trading.

How can you consider the problem "fixed", when you do not have data subscription to show a properly plotted chart ?

BTW i did not send you anything.
You are probably refering to the thread starter.
I am asking as i am also interested in Kospi Options.

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 13 Dec 2006

Practically, our latest beta version is even more reliable that the stable one from the viewpoint of its functionality.
As concerns Kospi options, in the latest beta such message as "Symbol not found" doesn't appear any more. The symbol was found and the connection was established as you can see on the screenshot I posted above, and this means that we will be able to download the data if we have the subscription for tis symbol.

Guest

Postby Guest » 13 Dec 2006

Practically, our latest beta version is even more reliable that the stable one from the viewpoint of its functionality.
As concerns Kospi options, in the latest beta such message as "Symbol not found" doesn't appear any more. The symbol was found and the connection was established as you can see on the screenshot I posted above, and this means that we will be able to download the data if we have the subscription for tis symbol.


The current version of MC that i use is fine for me.

So can you confirm 2 things:
1. I will not have problems with the current beta, since you say its more stable ?

2. IF i upgrade, Kospi Options will work ?

If you give me a definitive yes for both, i will upgrade.

User avatar
Kate
Posts: 758
Joined: 08 Dec 2006

Postby Kate » 14 Dec 2006

According to our inner testing and customers' opinion, the current beta is more stable than the official version.

As concerns Kospi options, when we opened the workspace there appeared "Establishing connection..." message that meant the data could be downloaded if we had the subscription for these options.

Guest

Postby Guest » 15 Dec 2006

According to our inner testing and customers' opinion, the current beta is more stable than the official version.

As concerns Kospi options, when we opened the workspace there appeared "Establishing connection..." message that meant the data could be downloaded if we had the subscription for these options.


Surely you cannot expect your user to upgrade in the hope that data could be downloaded ?

Its not right.. but its okay.. i am moving on to other software.


Return to “MultiCharts”