Please Add Data-Resolution description to study-plots

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
denizen2
Posts: 125
Joined: 17 Jul 2005

Please Add Data-Resolution description to study-plots

Postby denizen2 » 29 Nov 2006

The data-resolution of a plotted price series can be included in the plot-status-line in the 'Sub-Chart' #1. However, there is no way (now) to look at the study-indicator sub-charts and 'see' which (of possibly several) data-series-resolution is being used for that indicator-study.

This becomes a 'problem' whenever there are multiple resolution time-series embedded into the same plot, and the user might want to set the data# parameter for any given sub-plot indicator to a different data-resolution, at different times. Unless, the user does a manual-format operation again, it is not really obvious to the user what data# (or resolution label, e.g., "10Min", "1Hr, "2Hr", etc) is associated with any given plot.

So, my suggestion is to add a check box to the 'StatusLine' tab of the 'Format Window' dialog. That check box would logically be at the end of the current list, just after "Study Values", and maybe could be labeled as "Study Resolution".

templ
Posts: 86
Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby templ » 29 Nov 2006


denizen2
Posts: 125
Joined: 17 Jul 2005

Postby denizen2 » 29 Nov 2006



No, that is a different topic :) [re: Resolution Linking]. The topic of my comments is about adding to plot-'status' description the resolution of the data series that any indicator-study is associated with, at any given time. Thus making it easier to identify what data series #, or better yet, the data resolution as time-units.

User avatar
Alex Kramer
Posts: 834
Joined: 23 Feb 2006

Postby Alex Kramer » 30 Nov 2006

Thanks, this makes sense, we'll be adding this to our ToDo list.


Return to “MultiCharts”