true/false inputs  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
arnie
Posts: 1594
Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 514 times

true/false inputs

Postby arnie » 08 Feb 2014

Imagine a study with 17 true/false inputs.
All plotting a mix between lines and trendlines.
Only one is set to true.

In terms of responsiveness and memory consumption, will MC have the same performance if plotting a study with 17 inputs but only plotting one of them or plotting from a study which has only one input?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7742
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2222 times

Re: true/false inputs  [SOLVED]

Postby TJ » 08 Feb 2014

Imagine a study with 17 true/false inputs.
All plotting a mix between lines and trendlines.
Only one is set to true.
In terms of responsiveness and memory consumption, will MC have the same performance if plotting a study with 17 inputs but only plotting one of them or plotting from a study which has only one input?
Not speaking for MultiCharts...

from a programming point of view... it won't make a difference. Because inputs are really user definable variables.

When you say true/false inputs, do you mean IF-THEN-ELSE decision blocks?
ie. if TRUE then do this block of code... if not then do the other block of code?

In terms of execution, the number of blocks (17 or 170) will not make a difference in execution time because the unqualified blocks are bypassed.

Are the TRUE/FALSE decisions trees?
If you have nested 17 layers of TRUE/FALSE decision tree... and if the "true" is the 17th T/F... then of course it will take time to get to the 17th evaluation (albeit a micro-second effort). This is also called the Binary Search. This is a whole new topic... There are ways to make your decision tree faster. Talk to Bowlesj3, he is an expert in this science.

User avatar
arnie
Posts: 1594
Joined: 11 Feb 2009
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 514 times

Re: true/false inputs

Postby arnie » 08 Feb 2014

ie. if TRUE then do this block of code... if not then do the other block of code?

In terms of execution, the number of blocks (17 or 170) will not make a difference in execution time because the unqualified blocks are bypassed.
Many thanks TJ


Return to “MultiCharts”