Beta 3 - Studies Crash

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Beta 3 - Studies Crash

Postby momentum » 29 Jan 2008

Updated to new beta - uninstalled previous. I have three workspaces
running, each with one chart and all have same indicators.

After runninmg for about 10 minutes quite satisfactorily, the chart that is being displayed has all the studies crash and gives errors. When the errors are cleared, there is just a bar chart - see pic. The other workspaces running the same studies keep running OK.

I ran the same setup on my backup pc with the same errors.
Attachments
MCbetaCrash.jpg
MCbetaCrash.jpg (298.51 KiB) Viewed 446 times

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 29 Jan 2008

Hi momentum,

What is shown in the attached screenshot is not a crash.
Try turning the studies on and off. Also, check the Max Bars back value for those indicators.

Regards.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Postby momentum » 29 Jan 2008

All studies are set to auto detect and had no problems in previous version. one of them is a simple exponential moving average. Can't see why the errors were thrown.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 29 Jan 2008

Hi momentum, it looks like we would need to get connected to your computer via HelpDesk, a remote desktop control utility.

To get assistance through HelpDesk, please contact us through LiveChat http://messenger.providesupport.com/mes ... pport.html , tell a customer support representative what the problem is and you will be given instructions how to download and run HelpDesk.

User avatar
Geoff
Posts: 198
Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby Geoff » 31 Jan 2008

Is there a solution to this as I am having the same problem.

Also when there are multiple windows in a workspace it is not possible to tell which window these new error pop ups come from so I have go through each window to find which studies need to have their status switch back on.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Postby momentum » 31 Jan 2008

MC connected to mt PC and verified the bug and are working on it. Are your crashes with Range Bars too?

User avatar
Geoff
Posts: 198
Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby Geoff » 31 Jan 2008

Thanks for the update.

No Tick bars.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 31 Jan 2008

Hi Geoff,

Did you last comment mean that you can't plot ticks for a particular symbol? If so, what is the symbol and the data provider?

User avatar
Geoff
Posts: 198
Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Postby Geoff » 31 Jan 2008

Marina,

No I meant that I don't use range bars, most of my charts are tick charts and they are the ones having problems with indicators giving errors when workspaces are loaded.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Postby momentum » 31 Jan 2008

These indicator crashes occur when the market speeds up, that is, when more data comes into the chart quickly. I am using core2 with 2gb ram and only 4 charts in one workspace.

momentum
Posts: 315
Joined: 23 Nov 2005
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Postby momentum » 01 Feb 2008

Spoke to support and they are hopeful of resolving this issue next week.

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 04 Feb 2008

Right, we are working to fix this issue.

Regards.


Return to “MultiCharts”