EOD Signal

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
pcbcc
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Aug 2014
Has thanked: 1 time

EOD Signal

Postby pcbcc » 17 Aug 2014

Hi,

I am new to Multicharts.

Initially I am planning to get wet with EOD study.

Please guide me How to get End of day signal.

To be clear....

Suppose I develop one study(Signal), which I have backtest and optimize for portfolio of say..twenty instruments.I found it OK.
Now how to get daily (at the end of day or prior to next day) Buy or Sell Signal from that study for each of instruments.

Do I have Open all instrments charts separately and insert signal and watch whether there is signal for next day or not. Or there is other way for this.

Can I scan my database for signal on EOD basis.

Regards

aconnery
Posts: 32
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby aconnery » 17 Aug 2014

I think the best way is to run your portfolio in Partfolio Backtester and have a 'print' statement for each of your signals. There are a lot of help files and links in the discussion forum that can help you with this.

There is even some downloadable code on the discussion forum which I found very helpful to acheive this in both MC 9 and earlier versions.......

Regards

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 18 Aug 2014

Hello pcbcc,

By default from one chart you can trade only the instrument that is the main data series. You cannot send orders to any additional data series of the same chart. You need to have an individual chart for each instrument you want to trade.

That is possible to use the Portfolio Trader introduced in MC 9.0 to automate order execution for multiple instruments. You can find more details regarding the new portfolio trading here:
Portfolio Trader Manual:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/951 ... Manual.pdf
Portfolio Trader Strategy Examples:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/951 ... amples.pdf

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 18 Aug 2014

MC 9.0 has quite a few serious bugs. Keep away from it for serious work.
Please specify the particular issues you are referring to.

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 517
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Location: Thailand
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby Smoky » 18 Aug 2014

MC 9.0 has quite a few serious bugs. Keep away from it for serious work.
Please specify the particular issues you are referring to.
Yes, don't be afraid, tell us ...

pcbcc
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Aug 2014
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: EOD Signal

Postby pcbcc » 18 Aug 2014

Hi,

Thank you all for your reply.

Please dont divert from main topic.

I need answer to my specific question ....please....

Regards

User avatar
furytrader
Posts: 354
Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 217 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby furytrader » 18 Aug 2014

While MultiCharts can certainly generate end-of-day signals, I've never used it to actually put those orders into the market. At a minimum, that would require using real-time data, even though your time-frame is not intraday.

It would be easy to generate a list of signals each day, though, either to the window available through the PowerLanguage editor or to a file. If you need help, just let us know and we can give you examples.

pcbcc
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Aug 2014
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: EOD Signal

Postby pcbcc » 18 Aug 2014

Hi,

Thanks
Ya you are right for not using those signals.
but I want to know How excatly one can generate EOD signal out of strategy which is developed using EOD data.
I am curious..

Regards

User avatar
furytrader
Posts: 354
Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 217 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby furytrader » 18 Aug 2014

On the last bar of the chart, you can see whether you have a signal and then based on whether you do or not, you can write a message describing the signal and how to manage it.

pcbcc
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Aug 2014
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: EOD Signal

Postby pcbcc » 18 Aug 2014

Thanks Furytrader,

That means I have to check each instruments among my portfolio.
Is there anyway to scan entire portfolio, for which I backtested my strategy.

Regards.

User avatar
furytrader
Posts: 354
Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 217 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby furytrader » 18 Aug 2014

How many markets are you following? Could you create a workspace with charts for each market that you're following?

Also, you might be able to get the code to work in the Portfolio Backtester, especially if it is writing to a file - however, you have to watch out for two or more markets "writing" to the same file.

Maybe someone else has an idea of how to solve this ...

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 21 Aug 2014

Well, for example an absolutely wrong currency conversion.
lagging charts, memory hog, ...
Not all of the users are affected by these issues. We will have them fixed in 9.0 beta 3.

aconnery
Posts: 32
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: EOD Signal

Postby aconnery » 21 Aug 2014

Hi,

The easiest way to do this is to use Portfolio backtester to create a text file ( or csv) which you can then use for any subsequent orders. Within your signal / strategy, assign a value for each signal e.g. If you 'Buy next Bar at market' you can also have a variable which saves the signal direction i.e. NewSig=1;

Vars: NewSig(0);

If 'your signal logic'=true then begin
Buy next bar at market;
NewSig=1;
end;
If 'your signal logic'=false then begin
Sell next bar at market;
NewSig=0
end;

Then, apart from your actual trade signal, you also have a flag that can be printed for each signal.

I had a chat recentle asking for help with the print logic. Please search on the forum for 'help with print function in Portfolio backester'. The nice guys at MC posted some code there which will help you do the rest.

Hope it helps


Return to “MultiCharts”