Time based order

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
brianhclo
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Has thanked: 8 times

Time based order

Postby brianhclo » 29 Oct 2014

I have a 1 minute chart.

Currently I am placing orders when time equals an input like this 1230

I would like to know if it is possible to be more precise and specify the seconds as well? i.e. 123030 (12:30:30)

This is because I would like to place order as close to the closing time as possible.

Thanks.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Time based order

Postby TJ » 29 Oct 2014

I have a 1 minute chart.
Currently I am placing orders when time equals an input like this 1230
I would like to know if it is possible to be more precise and specify the seconds as well? i.e. 123030 (12:30:30)
This is because I would like to place order as close to the closing time as possible.
Thanks.
I won't push my luck... most brokers require orders to be submitted 3 minutes before the closing bell. There are just too many variables that can delay your order -- if you are stuck, you will be forced to carry your position overnight. (it won't be fun on an HSI, and even less fun if it were a Friday.)

brianhclo
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Time based order

Postby brianhclo » 29 Oct 2014

I have a 1 minute chart.
Currently I am placing orders when time equals an input like this 1230
I would like to know if it is possible to be more precise and specify the seconds as well? i.e. 123030 (12:30:30)
This is because I would like to place order as close to the closing time as possible.
Thanks.
I won't push my luck... most brokers require orders to be submitted 3 minutes before the closing bell. There are just too many variables that can delay your order -- if you are stuck, you will be forced to carry your position overnight. (it won't be fun on an HSI, and even less fun if it were a Friday.)
Thanks TJ.

In fact I am opening a position close to market close. Anyways do you know anyways that I can place orders at 1559+30 seconds instead of 1559?

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Time based order

Postby TJ » 29 Oct 2014

::
Thanks TJ.
In fact I am opening a position close to market close. Anyways do you know anyways that I can place orders at 1559+30 seconds instead of 1559?
Try

CURRENTTIME_S


requires IOG

Caution: your computer clock better be accurate.

brianhclo
Posts: 31
Joined: 31 Mar 2014
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: Time based order

Postby brianhclo » 29 Oct 2014

::
Thanks TJ.
In fact I am opening a position close to market close. Anyways do you know anyways that I can place orders at 1559+30 seconds instead of 1559?
Try

CURRENTTIME_S


requires IOG

Caution: your computer clock better be accurate.
Thanks alot.

May I ask you one more thing.

Do you think it is possible to slice an order into chunks and have them executed with a few seconds in between?

Say I want to buy 1000 shares of SPY starting 1230. Is it possible to do the below?

1230 => Buy 100 Shares
1230+2 seconds Buy 100 Shares
.
.
.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Time based order

Postby TJ » 30 Oct 2014

::
Thanks TJ.
In fact I am opening a position close to market close. Anyways do you know anyways that I can place orders at 1559+30 seconds instead of 1559?
Try
CURRENTTIME_S
requires IOG
Caution: your computer clock better be accurate.
Thanks alot.
May I ask you one more thing.
Do you think it is possible to slice an order into chunks and have them executed with a few seconds in between?
Say I want to buy 1000 shares of SPY starting 1230. Is it possible to do the below?
1230 => Buy 100 Shares
1230+2 seconds Buy 100 Shares
.
.
.
Theoretically it should work, but I have never tried it with such short time increment. You will be bounded, more by outside latencies (eg. your internet, your broker's server, etc.), than MultiCharts'.

Please give it a test, and let us know the result.


Return to “MultiCharts”