barstatus in precision testing

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
User avatar
MarketMicro
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 May 2014
Been thanked: 1 time

barstatus in precision testing

Postby MarketMicro » 09 Dec 2014

Hi,

For precision backtesting, I'm using Data Series #1 as Bid, #2 as Ask, and #3 as a bar (either minute or ticks).

I want to be able to make decision using #3 bar status, and I use the keyword BarStatus(3)=1, or 2 or 0. It seems that BarStatus does not return what I expect it to be.

Could you advice on how to get the bar status of Data Series #3 in this chart config scenario?

Thank you in advance.

MM

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 09 Dec 2014

Hello MarketMicro,

Could you elaborate what exactly is not working with the BarStatus(3)?

User avatar
MarketMicro
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 May 2014
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby MarketMicro » 09 Dec 2014

Using MC 8.

In the chart, I have set,
Series 1 = Bid price
Series 2 = Ask price
Series 3 = 1min bar

In the Script, I have,

Code: Select all

if date=1141201 and time_s>=110918 and time_s<=110937 then
begin
print(time_s, " Barnumber=", barnumber);
print(time_s, " ", barstatus(1), " ", barstatus(2), " ", barstatus(3));
print(time_s, " Bid=", c of data1[0], " Ask=", C of data2[0], " BarHigh=",H of data3[0], " BarLow=",L of data3[0] ," Bar Close=",C of data3[0]);
end;

In the Output screen, I have the following print-out.

110918.00 2.00 -1.00 -1.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.75 BarLow=2051.00 Bar Close=2051.00
110918.00 Barnumber=85700.00
110918.00 -1.00 2.00 -1.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.75 BarLow=2051.00 Bar Close=2051.00
110918.00 Barnumber=85700.00
110918.00 -1.00 -1.00 2.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.25 BarLow=2050.50 Bar Close=2050.50
110918.00 Barnumber=85701.00
110918.00 0.00 0.00 -1.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.25 BarLow=2050.50 Bar Close=2050.50
110918.00 Barnumber=85701.00
110918.00 1.00 1.00 -1.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.25 BarLow=2050.50 Bar Close=2050.50
110918.00 Barnumber=85701.00
110918.00 1.00 1.00 -1.00
110918.00 Bid=2050.25 Ask=2050.50 BarHigh=2051.25 BarLow=2050.50 Bar Close=2050.50



I notice that in the two underlined prices, the barstatus(3) of Series 3 becomes 2 when the bar closes as the H of the previous bar changed from 2051.75 to the current closing at H 2051.25.
However, there is no barstatus(3)=1, or 0. All I get is "-1" in the tick before and after the Data3 bar closes. I was expecting barstatus(3)=0 or 1 somewhere, which is not the case.

Just wondering if this should be the expected BarStatus for Data3 in a tick chart config.

MM

User avatar
Andrew MultiCharts
Posts: 1587
Joined: 11 Oct 2011
Has thanked: 931 times
Been thanked: 559 times

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby Andrew MultiCharts » 10 Dec 2014

Using MC 8.
...

I notice that in the two underlined prices, the barstatus(3) of Series 3 becomes 2 when the bar closes as the H of the previous bar changed from 2051.75 to the current closing at H 2051.25.
However, there is no barstatus(3)=1, or 0. All I get is "-1" in the tick before and after the Data3 bar closes. I was expecting barstatus(3)=0 or 1 somewhere, which is not the case.

Just wondering if this should be the expected BarStatus for Data3 in a tick chart config.
MarketMicro, there has been a lot of changes both in charting and in BarStatus keyword since MC 8.X. Do you experience any problem with latest MC 9.0?

User avatar
MarketMicro
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 May 2014
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby MarketMicro » 10 Dec 2014

Before I upgrade from 8.8 to 9, I would like to know if I need to re-compile everything, or it's simply a download and install?

sptrader
Posts: 742
Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 483 times
Been thanked: 274 times
Contact:

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby sptrader » 10 Dec 2014

Before I upgrade from 8.8 to 9, I would like to know if I need to re-compile everything, or it's simply a download and install?
******************************************************************
During the install process all studies are automatically compiled. (unless you choose not to)..
Very painless..

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby TJ » 10 Dec 2014

Using MC 8.

In the chart, I have set,
Series 1 = Bid price
Series 2 = Ask price
Series 3 = 1min bar
::
MM
What are the chart resolutions for series 1 and series 2?

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 10 Dec 2014

Before I upgrade from 8.8 to 9, I would like to know if I need to re-compile everything, or it's simply a download and install?
******************************************************************
During the install process all studies are automatically compiled. (unless you choose not to)..
Very painless..
This is something we are going to improve in MultiCharts 9.1 Beta 1.

User avatar
MarketMicro
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 May 2014
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby MarketMicro » 10 Dec 2014

TJ, the chart resolution for Chart1 and 2 are ticks.

User avatar
MarketMicro
Posts: 24
Joined: 04 May 2014
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby MarketMicro » 10 Dec 2014

Henry, are you referring to the issues relating to BarStatus which will be improved in MC 9.1 beta 1?


Before I upgrade from 8.8 to 9, I would like to know if I need to re-compile everything, or it's simply a download and install?
******************************************************************
During the install process all studies are automatically compiled. (unless you choose not to)..
Very painless..
This is something we are going to improve in MultiCharts 9.1 Beta 1.

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2957 times

Re: barstatus in precision testing

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 10 Dec 2014

Henry, are you referring to the issues relating to BarStatus which will be improved in MC 9.1 beta 1?
I was referring to the forced compilation of the user studies upon MultiCharts update.


Return to “MultiCharts”