Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
lizmerrill

Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

I am trying to run automation for my system, when I turn on automation, I receive the message, invalid order parameters, and account field is empty.

Whats going on here? I check my order for the system, it is a buy entry stop.
HELP

Liz

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby TJ » 18 Sep 2016

I am trying to run automation for my system, when I turn on automation, I receive the message, invalid order parameters, and account field is empty.

Whats going on here? I check my order for the system, it is a buy entry stop.
HELP

Liz
Please post your code.

What is your symbol?
What is the chart resolution?

lizmerrill

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

the symbol is the crude oil nov 16 contract from cqg.
i would really not like to post all my code, because I would like to keep my system code confidential, but I can post the entry statements. Would that work?

lizmerrill

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

also, chart resolution is 10 minutes, 24 hours

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP  [SOLVED]

Postby TJ » 18 Sep 2016

the symbol is the crude oil nov 16 contract from cqg.
i would really not like to post all my code, because I would like to keep my system code confidential, but I can post the entry statements. Would that work?

You have to learn how to ask for help.

ie. post codes that would produce the same error, without your "secret" recipe.

lizmerrill

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

here is the lines for entry,

if direction=-1 then buy next bar at (meanpt+delta1) stop;
if direction=1 then sellshort next bar at(meanpt-delta1) stop;

I use &stops and targets strategy, included, for a trailing dollar stop of $750


??? why invalid order parameters? and account field is empty (far as I can ascertain, it is not).

so HELP

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby TJ » 18 Sep 2016

here is the lines for entry,
if direction=-1 then buy next bar at (meanpt+delta1) stop;
if direction=1 then sellshort next bar at(meanpt-delta1) stop;
I use &stops and targets strategy, included, for a trailing dollar stop of $750
??? why invalid order parameters? and account field is empty (far as I can ascertain, it is not).
so HELP

Please go to the wiki and read the definition of the keyword BUY.
You will see the required parameters,
as well as usage examples.


ps. the wiki is at top of this page, look under the "Support" tab.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7740
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 1033 times
Been thanked: 2221 times

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby TJ » 18 Sep 2016

Please see post #1 & #2
[FAQ] How to Post Codes (... so that people can read)
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11713

lizmerrill

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

if direction=-1 then buy next bar at (meanpt+delta1) stop;
if direction=1 then sellshort next bar at(meanpt-delta1) stop;


there is nothing wrong with the above statements from the strategy, I can run the strategy on historical data with no errors, but when I enable automation I receive the error "invalid order parameters", so what gives?
I am using rj obrien as my broker, and cqg as the data source.

lizmerrill

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby lizmerrill » 18 Sep 2016

Code: Select all

if direction=-1 then buy next bar at (meanpt+delta1) stop;
if direction=1 then sellshort next bar at(meanpt-delta1) stop;

tony
Posts: 420
Joined: 14 Jun 2013
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 81 times
Contact:

Re: Help, Invalid Order Parameters, HELP

Postby tony » 18 Sep 2016

In format - signal - auto-trading (I don't have MC open so I don't know the exact path) you need to make sure in auto-trading you have your broker credentials and account number entered and are valid. That may be the source of your problem. It sounds like orders are being generated (if true, your signal / script is fine) but orders are being rejected due to invalid parameters?

This will help a bit - https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... to_Trading

When you are formatting auto-trading though, you need to select a field near the bottom where you input credentials and account info for the broker plugin. Again I don't have MC open so I can't give you the exact path.


Return to “MultiCharts”