License management system disturbs real trading

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
regtracer
Posts: 17
Joined: 28 Dec 2016
Been thanked: 1 time

License management system disturbs real trading

Postby regtracer » 01 Feb 2018

Yesterday the license management system failed and all my real-time data was not updating. I have to manually click the license check after a hour of data down.

What's wrong with the license server? If you can't guarantee that the server AND the network are up 100% times, you should not immediately cut the real-time data update. At least there should be a grace period or a notification/API event or something. This has happened two times in the last year and made my actual trading not reliable!
These users thanked the author regtracer for the post:
Zheka

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 286
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby Smoky » 05 Feb 2018

+1000

wilkinsw
Posts: 326
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby wilkinsw » 05 Feb 2018

Agree. That sounds terrifying. I suggest adding realtime data alerts though to catch this asap.

This is what I use as an indicator and have it hooked up to email alerts.

Update it every tick.

You may also want to add filters to turn it off when markets are closed (add code to set "alact" to ZERO when markets are closed and ONE when open).

Code: Select all

input:nomins(5);
vars: alact(1);

Vars: intrabarpersist counter(0),intrabarpersist switchv(0);
Recalclastbarafter(5);

if alact=1 then//only start counter if market should be open
counter = IFF(getappinfo(aicalcreason) = calcreason_timer, counter + 1, 0);

if barstatus(1)=0 then
switchv=1;

if switchv=1 then begin
if currenttime=1701 and alact=1 then begin
alert ("RT heartbeat");
switchv=0;
end;
end;

vars:alertv(0);
if counter > (nomins*12) then begin
alert("No realtime > 60 sec");
alertv=1;
counter=0;
end else begin
alertv=0;
end;

plot1(alact,"alact");
plot2(counter,"counter");
plot3(alertv,"alertbin");


Credit to JoshM (if I remember correctly)
These users thanked the author wilkinsw for the post:
hughesfleming

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 286
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby Smoky » 05 Feb 2018

no code for this please, MC servers Know very well where are the good lifetimes licences !

make only one control on every day is good !

when I trade in real i use always the same computer, same licence, same IP easy to keep me working !

NO ?
These users thanked the author Smoky for the post:
TJ

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 286
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby Smoky » 06 Feb 2018

For some hackers every customers who paid licences can have troubles when they work,, let us work Quiet please !

Urgent to find solution, always same troubles ....

SUPER
Posts: 626
Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Has thanked: 101 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby SUPER » 06 Feb 2018

I too have faced this issue in recent days and it needs some workable solution ASAP

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 286
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby Smoky » 06 Feb 2018

First when you are trading with MC (manual or auto trading) when you go in real on market, you have open positions, my multicharts on my computer have already check your management licence server ? right ?

when i am in my trading session my licence number, my PC, my IP can't change ? right ?

Why cut datafeed if management service licence failed ? yours customers can't close their opened position properly !
it's a big mistake from your developement team ! your customers can loose money ! and you know this !

please can you find a workaround ? (for manual And autotrading)

escamillo
Posts: 198
Joined: 25 Mar 2011
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby escamillo » 08 Feb 2018

regtracer wrote:Yesterday the license management system failed and all my real-time data was not updating. I have to manually click the license check after a hour of data down.

What's wrong with the license server? If you can't guarantee that the server AND the network are up 100% times, you should not immediately cut the real-time data update. At least there should be a grace period or a notification/API event or something. This has happened two times in the last year and made my actual trading not reliable!


Can you please clarify what this means and when it happens? I have never experienced this and am curious as to what happens and when, and then why. Once I am first logged in to the data and trading server, I never have disconnected from the 'license management system' UNLESS my internet connection has been disrupted. So would like to know the circumstances and behavior that causes your problem so that I can recognize it and avoid it myself.

User avatar
Smoky
Posts: 286
Joined: 03 Dec 2010
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: License management system disturbs real trading

Postby Smoky » 08 Feb 2018

Simple Escamillo, your internet connection is ok but your multicharts software loose conection to their serveurs, you see a pink popup saying that you don't have right management and your realtime datafeed stop !

without care if you are in position on market ! in auto-trading or anything else ...

MC team said impossible with 3 servers, but in my case 2 times ...


Return to “MultiCharts”