Incorrect bar in MC 12  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 04 May 2019

I installed both MC and AB under same computer to connect IB as data source. Sometimes I found MC piloted incorrect bar.

Refer to the attached chart, the bar at 1:00 am was incorrect in MC, anyone has experience on this? Instead of manually correct the data, can I request MC to get small period data again instead of delete all cached/downloaded data?
Attachments
6CF92C97-118D-47AE-93EF-35495D1A9114.jpeg
(546.72 KiB) Downloaded 373 times
5E174493-E000-45DD-99AC-B872D8D6AD6B.jpeg
(581.03 KiB) Downloaded 373 times

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7346
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2097 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby TJ » 04 May 2019

You can reload the data.
You do not have to delete the cache.


https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... ing_Charts

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 04 May 2019

Already tried, but doesn’t work. The chart always displays “backfilling” and the “Reload All Data” option is dimmed.

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7346
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2097 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby TJ » 04 May 2019

Already tried, but doesn’t work. The chart always displays “backfilling” and the “Reload All Data” option is dimmed.
That means you are requesting too much data.
You must be getting "Pace Violation" messages.
IB has imposed limitations on how much you can download within a certain time.

You can purchase more data from IB if you need faster download.

SUPER
Posts: 633
Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 81 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby SUPER » 05 May 2019

Already tried, but doesn’t work. The chart always displays “backfilling” and the “Reload All Data” option is dimmed.
That means you are requesting too much data.
You must be getting "Pace Violation" messages.
IB has imposed limitations on how much you can download within a certain time.

You can purchase more data from IB if you need faster download.
TJ,

how do you buy more data from IB, I could not find option on their platform -please advice.

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 05 May 2019

You may find an option > settings > users settings > trading platform > marketing data subscription

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 06 May 2019

Tried IQFeed, but same issue found

User avatar
Henry MultiСharts
Posts: 9165
Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Has thanked: 1264 times
Been thanked: 2944 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby Henry MultiСharts » 06 May 2019

Hello kinwai,

The data is OK on our end for both data feeds in question. Please refer to the attached screenshot. Please restart all platform processes and reload the charts on your end:
https://www.multicharts.com/trading-sof ... ing_Charts
If the bars are not corrected - please come to the live chat for the remote assistance with the matter:
https://www.multicharts.com/support/
Attachments
@NQ.png
(78.95 KiB) Downloaded 328 times

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12  [SOLVED]

Postby kinwai » 07 May 2019

Hi Henry,


Before make this post, I have already tired to reload the chart, but no luck.

However, when I delete the data and clear cache and request data from provider again, the chart issue is gone.

Do you know the root cause? I may be a criterial issue on autotrade if bar generated wrong but data source is correct

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 31 Jan 2020

The case occasionally happen again and again.

Tonight it happened in NQ, need to reload the chart, may I know if the root cause has been identified? It’s a serious issue when autotrade

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 31 Jan 2020

Here is both screen captured, it happened around 8:50 in NQ
Attachments
CFA9AAB7-81C3-4CA8-888F-FA4D19EEB860.jpeg
(222.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
EFDD330F-2FE5-4418-811F-D550BDB5E150.jpeg
(213.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 7346
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 2097 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby TJ » 31 Jan 2020

You need to write notes on the picture to explain/illustrate the problem. The charts by themselves do not tell anything.

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 01 Feb 2020

I described the case at the beginning of this post, my new post refers the same case.

MultiCharts occasionally display incorrect bar, need to refresh to make it correct, it isn’t related the data source issue. As discussed in above post, I tried to use same data source under both MC and AB, when MC appears incorrect bar, AB can still display correctly.

From my new post EFDD330F-2FE5-4418-811F-D550BDB5E150.jpeg is incorrect bar around 8:50, I need to refresh to make it correct (see CFA9AAB7-81C3-4CA8-888F-FA4D19EEB860.jpeg)

wilkinsw
Posts: 601
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby wilkinsw » 05 Feb 2020

Have you definitely setup your sessions correctly: correct timezone for exchange, correct session times etc etc?

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 05 Feb 2020

Sure, it just happens occasionally and can resume when reload data

wilkinsw
Posts: 601
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby wilkinsw » 06 Feb 2020

Ive used mc and iqfeed for many years and have never seen this issue. I would call myself a heavy duty user of mc.

Can you put together a more complete picture please?

kinwai
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 May 2019
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby kinwai » 06 Feb 2020

Usually I couldn’t reproduce the issue, but just occasionally happen.

I use 1 min bar, based on my observation, when the market move very quick, it will be higher probability to reproduce it.

Based on my testing as said above, it’s not data source issue, since both MC and AB running same data source, but only MC happen.

I’m also thinking if it’s related to my computer performance due to heavy loading when market move quick, don’t know how to prove it, but at least AB is okay on my testing.

wilkinsw
Posts: 601
Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Incorrect bar in MC 12

Postby wilkinsw » 06 Feb 2020

A disconnection to license server could cause this


Return to “MultiCharts”