How does Portfolio Trader handle Postrade______ functions?  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
denniswklam

How does Portfolio Trader handle Postrade______ functions?

Postby denniswklam » 12 Dec 2019

Dear MC Support Team,

I am studying how to use Portfolio Trader and planning to setup a portfolio similar to Portfolio Rank Signal example. I am planning to use a custom benchmark function which was coded to employ

"PosTradeCount(), PosTradeEntryBar(), PosTradeExitBar(), PosTradeProfit(), PosTradeEntryPrice(), TotalTrades, etc." functions

for "Input: Formula( )" in the Base Signal.

However, I wish to clarify how does PT handle the output of these functions in different modes (Backtesting, Optimization, Auto Trading Mode) regarding the historical data and real-time data before I actually starting the project.

My assumptions under Backtesting Mode:
1) I assume in backtesting & optimization mode, PT will use the historical data to generate "hypothetical trades" for every instrument within a strategy, before the Money Management Signal determines if order instructions are really allowed for each instrument according to the ranking rule sorted the output values of each instrument from my custom benchmark function, which relies on PosTrade_____ functions.

2) I assume the PosTrade____ functions will return the hypothetical trade records for each instrument disregard whether the Money Management Signal disallowing order instructions to go through if its a low priority instrument.

My Questions:
1) Are my assumptions correct?
2) What about the case for optimization mode?
3) In Auto Trade Mode, how does PT handle these PosTrade____ functions return?