Building a Database from RT datafeed

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
mickson

Building a Database from RT datafeed

Postby mickson » 11 Aug 2020

Hello

I am new to Multicharts. I have connected my QuoteManager to IB and I am collecting RT data w/o plotting.
In order to build a historical database do I need to open a chart with that symbol to pull the history?
Will I always need to open a chart to pull history of intraday data if i have been disconnected for a few days.

I have more than 80 symbols, if I have to open a chart to pull the history and getting missing data since my last opening of the chart. Is there a way to open multiple chart symbols in an easy quick way.

Am I correct running QoteManager collecting RT data only collects the data for the symbol when open but this data is not being stored in the database?
Please advise as I would like to take advantage of my marketfeed subscription and build a database.

Thanks
Mike

Tammy MultiCharts

Re: Building a Database from RT datafeed

Postby Tammy MultiCharts » 13 Aug 2020

Hello mickson,

Collect RT data w/o plotting option collects only real-time data and not historical data. To collect real-time data it is not necessary to build a chart, it is only required to have QuoteManager running. However, it does not collect historical data.

To load historical data, it is necessary to build a chart. You can use the option Collect RT data w/o plotting and build a chart at the same time, there will be no data conflicts.

After the chart is plotted, the data for the selected data range is downloaded and saved in the database. If you didn’t have a chart plotted for that symbol, then the historical data is not collected, and only the RT data is (if you have Collect RT data w/o plotting on).