Stop trading for the day after profit reached

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
kinginhk

Stop trading for the day after profit reached

Postby kinginhk » 15 Jul 2022

hi all,

I'm a beginner coder and new here, have only started using MC and dipping my toes into making algos for leveraged fx since the past 2 months. Thanks in advance for all the help.
I have a few questions hope someone could help me show a way:

1. i'm using SetStopContract SetStopLoss and SetPercentTrailing in every one of my signals. however, i realized that my trade entry conditions might well be valid at the same bar that stop losses or trailing stops are triggered, how can i code in to ignore that entry signal please?

2. considering i'm trading a few currencies all with their own signals as a portfolio, how can i code an exit all positions at market and stop trading all signals for the day once my overall potfolio makes a certain percentage gain?

3. I tried using portfolio trader to backtest the portfolio of fx trades, but i can't find where to input the max leverage i can use at any one time, say 10x of capital at the time.

4. finally, for autotrading settings, should i use native or emulate bid ask then send limit (or market) orders? my trades are mostly trying to make around 10pips only, so each pip lost from bid ask is important to me.

FYI, i'm using saxo as my broker, if anyone has some tips to provide, please do reply to my post, thank you very much!

rrams

Re: Stop trading for the day after profit reached

Postby rrams » 16 Jul 2022

Hello kingin Hong Kong?,
1. You can code a condition in your signal not to enter a new position until after a certain number of bars past the last closing trade using:

Code: Select all

if (BarsSinceExit(1)>2 or MarketPosition(1)=0) // means two bars after exit or a flat position