Please help - code to make trade in specific year  [SOLVED]

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
Airke07

Please help - code to make trade in specific year

Postby Airke07 » 03 Jun 2023

Hello Community!

Please help this very simple part of the code to just start executing trades after May 18, 2023. The "year" part is obviously not working. I am not a coder and super frustrated of why Multicharts can't understand the simple 2023 :)

Can somebody just show me how to make this little part of the code work? Greatly appreciate your help!!! Thanks, many thanks!

Inputs:
StartDay (18),
StartMonth (5),
StartYear (2023);

if (Dayofmonth(Date)>=StartDay) and (Month(Date)>=StartMonth)and(Year(Date)=StartYear) Then Buy this bar on close;
if close > close [1] Then Sell this bar on close;

Regards,
Airke

rrams

Re: Please help - code to make trade in specific year

Postby rrams » 03 Jun 2023

Airke07,

The PowerLanguage date and time routines are based on legacy UNIX "Posix" structure and are thus not completely intuitive to remember. Hence, it is best to make a link to the MultiCharts64.chm help file in the MultiCharts directory and keep that open to search for the proper keyword to use to convert dates.

The year keyword returns a three number code referring to the last two year numbers and beginning with a digit indicating zero for the 20th century "1900-1999" or one for the 21st century "2000-2099".

So your StartYear variable should hold 123 not 2023.

A better way to write this code would be like this:

Code: Select all

if D>=JulianToDate(StringToDate("05/18/2023")) then Buy this bar on close;

Airke07

Re: Please help - code to make trade in specific year  [SOLVED]

Postby Airke07 » 04 Jun 2023

Hi Rrams,