Compile error after new software instalation

Questions about MultiCharts and user contributed studies.
ImXotep
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Apr 2007

Compile error after new software instalation

Postby ImXotep » 09 Nov 2008

Hello!
I'm install MC 4 Trial. And it work perfect. But after Crypto Pro instalation PL Editor print this error :

------ Compiled with error(s): ------
Compile error
errLine 0, errColumn 0, errLineEnd 0, errColumnEnd 0

I can't uninstal Crypro Pro because I need it for trading.

Have anybody this trouble and how can I fix it?

Best regards!

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 10 Nov 2008

check this post if it helps

http://forum.tssupport.com/viewtopic.ph ... pile+error

look for 2haerim's post

ImXotep
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Apr 2007

Postby ImXotep » 10 Nov 2008

I have correct value
Look screenshot
Attachments
reg.JPG
reg.JPG (8.75 KiB) Viewed 306 times

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 10 Nov 2008

Other signals compile ok but only that one fails?

If latter case, you can narrow down which line causes the compile error by removing lines gradually and compile.

If you find one, post it here.

ImXotep
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Apr 2007

Postby ImXotep » 10 Nov 2008

All studies compile with errors :(

User avatar
TJ
Posts: 6571
Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Location: Global Citizen
Has thanked: 968 times
Been thanked: 1900 times

Postby TJ » 10 Nov 2008

All studies compile with errors :(


then the problem is at your end... because thousands of users do not share the same problem...

you might have to uninstall MC, then install it again.

what OS are you using?

ImXotep
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Apr 2007

Postby ImXotep » 10 Nov 2008

I use Windows Vista HP.
This trouble not in OS.

You can dwonload and install Crypto Pro here http://www.alfadirect.of.ru/download/cpcsp36rt.exe. After instalation PL can't compile. When you uninstall PL again will be work.

2haerim
Posts: 502
Joined: 01 Sep 2006
Been thanked: 2 times

Postby 2haerim » 10 Nov 2008

The steps I gave you worked for me and other users in case of compile errors like you got.

Are you sure you repeated the steps exactly?

Maybe I can check myself via remote connection if you want.

If you want, PM me.

ImXotep
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Apr 2007

Postby ImXotep » 11 Nov 2008

Yes, I'm sure.
I can upload logs. Can it help?

User avatar
Marina Pashkova
Posts: 2758
Joined: 27 Jul 2007

Postby Marina Pashkova » 12 Nov 2008

Hi ImXotep,

There are two possible causes of the problem.

The first one is related to the short file name creation. Sometimes your registry settings won't allow those to be created. The remedy for that is what HaeRim suggested.

The second one is related to the fact that sometimes the address space used by the StudyServer is already taken by other programs. To check if this is the case on your machine, please go to "your drive:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\TS Support\MultiCharts\StudyServer\Studies\.." and see if you have a file 'compile error' in that location. If you do, please e-mail me the contents of that file to mpashkova@tssupport.com

Or simply contact our customer support and they will quickly resolve your prolblem.

Regards.


Return to “MultiCharts”